Friday, January 24, 2014

A letter to the NFL: Cold-weather Super Bowls, Richard Sherman, and the kickoff game



To Mr. Roger Goodell,

I've been a loyal fan of this game since 1996 and not only that, I'm very happy that we have a cold-weather Super Bowl being done in East Rutherford, New Jersey. It's actually stroke of genius to tell you the truth. But how come you decided to pick Super Bowl L and LI already without giving going forth with this test of a cold-weather Super Bowl.

Look, I would've preferred you give Super Bowl XLVIII a chance before making those decisions. XLIX is fine, you guys already gave it to Glendale. If you do for one city, you must open up bidding for everyone now. I don't see a problem with having a Super Bowl in DC, Baltimore, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia... I don't see the big problem at all with it. Football cities could use the Super Bowl to jump-start their economies. I think you need to allow ALL CITIES TO BID for the Super Bowl now. It'd be a great way to showcase the city.

You know what else I hate? The standardized Super Bowl logo. I think you should bring back the created logos. Those were so much better. Having a standardized logo is just so stupid.

As for Richard Sherman, don't belittle the guy, you wanted exciting interviews and what not. Well he just gave one. He wasn't trying to show anyone up and now everyone's giving him a bunch of crap for it. It's now a media showcase to the point where CNN interviewed him. FOX wanted him to say something, they bombarded him... so guess what, you got what you wanted... Fining him just made the Seahawks a little bit angrier in their quest for their first ever Super Bowl title.

I give the guy a lot of credit for saying something. It takes a lot of guts to speak to the media. You fined Marshawn Lynch, $50,000 for not speaking to the media at all. Shoot, if the guy doesn't have anything to say... then leave him alone. I put him in the likes of Carlton and Belle. They didn't talk to the media.

What you did with the Ravens was incredibly unfair and absolutely disgraceful after they won the Super Bowl title. We were not permitted to have the kickoff game at our own stadium due to logistics issues. The game could've been moved to Wednesday. BUT Bob Kraft put his hand in your pocket to prevent the game from being played on Wednesday which was Rosh Hashanah. Kraft said: "No games on Rosh Hashanah!" Now, if you can move the game for Obama to make his acceptance speech, then you certainly could've moved it for the Ravens... Instead, you gave the kickoff game to Denver (upon NBC's request) to feature your damn golden boy Peyton Manning. Peyton Manning can do no wrong, eh? Totally can do no wrong, right? HOW HARD WAS IT TO MOVE THE GAME TO THE DAY BEFORE?! ROSH HASHANAH!? This was Bob Kraft getting his revenge on the Ravens for beating his Patriots in the AFC Championship. I think a lot of Jewish people would ditch the synagogue for a football game any day. Shoot you could've made it a MONDAY NIGHT CONTEST!!!!

Is this a rant for unfair treatment, not necessarily, but the NFL could've done a lot better with allowing us to showcase our Super Bowl XLVII win with the first game of the season. Now we got to do it ALL over again. I bet a lot of other teams were like: HA HA!!!

----

Anywho, I really hope for a good SUPER BOWL XLVIII. I'll be watching. But I won't be watching the half-time show. You could've picked someone better than Bruno Mars...

Good god, whatever happened to country stars singing about the red, white, and blue...? Talking about America and our glorious nation. No, all we have are half-time pop stars who don't seem to give a damn about our nation (only the ones singing the National Anthem).

Roger, you need to get some country stars for next year... Courtesy of the Red, White, and Blue! Singing Songs about America!

----

Thank you,
Joshua

No comments:

Post a Comment