Tuesday, May 12, 2015

From an angry O's fan: Dear Dan...

Dear Dan Duquette,

I've been an Orioles fan since birth and have just about had it with you NOT signing anyone in the offseason and IMPROVING the team. I saw other teams spend big money to sign talent and improve their teams. We again, stood pat at free agency, and signed a shortstop who's doing nothing but committing errors and hitting into double plays. I, as a fan, demand an explanation as to WHY you are not signing anyone.

Our talent in the minor leagues is nowhere near ready. Hunter Harvey is still probably a good 2 to 3 years away, Bundy is showing some signs of regression, our hitters are pretty lackluster at best... Do we have ANY developing and ready made rookies to bring up to the minor leagues? The answer to that is NO.

Did the Blue Jays President and CEO title distract you this season from signing anyone? I think it did. All these free agents and international talent could've been signed. Yasmany Tomas and Rusney Castillo are still in their respective minor league systems with NO PLACE TO PUT THEM.... You could've signed them! YOU HAD MONEY...

I am really glad that the Oriole players are questioning the commitment to winning. Yes we were close to getting to the World Series last year but ran into a very good KC team who outplayed us with their D and hitting... But in order to get to that next stage... You have to make IMPROVEMENTS TO THE TEAM. I don't see Everth Cabrera as an upgrade... I see him as a serious downgrade.

Loads of money to spend and not a dime was spent. I believe the fans are going to start questioning our commitment to winning if nothing is done in the offseason... You can take that to the bank... I'm a very upset fan and tired of seeing the same thing in the offseason: NOTHING DONE...

Personally, I believe it's time to send some players to contenders and start growing our minor league system more with better talent. Start gutting the team and having a fire sale.

RAISING PAYROLL does not mean you improved the team, that just means you are paying more money to players.

Letting Markakis and Cruz go was the worst idea ever. Markakis is still mashing the ball and Cruz has 15 homeruns already. Boy did we lose defense, power, and LEADERSHIP. Markakis is a very quiet leader... Jones is too cocky as a leader...

I want to see some changes next offseason... a lot of changes...

No comments:

Post a Comment