Musings of a man with enough mold on the brain to produce a quart of penicillin.
Sunday, September 6, 2015
Questions to the Editor: End of Summer Edition
As in all past entries... the person wishes to remain anonymous.
Person: Yep! Been a long time! Where have you been??
Me: Busy, working, new job, buying a house, drinking beer, vacation...
Person: You've been through a lot, it seems.
Me: You can say that.
Person: So what is with you and fall. Why do you dislike fall so much...? Don't you like the colors and stuff like so.
Me: While I am fine with the colors and the upcoming events... I don't think many understand that you just can't wish your life away. I know that my wedding is coming up in November but... I really want to just enjoy each day that comes and goes. I wish people would understand that. I post stuff to say: Hey folks, ENJOY life!!! One day at a time! It's 96 degrees and people are still at the beach! BEGONE WITH YOUR PUMPKIN TREATS! Everyone says I have a problem with fall. No I have a problem with people wishing their lives away. I see all these posts of: Oh I just can't wait for autumn, the crisp air, and snuggles... To me: These people want to wish their lives away.
Life is short, take it one day at a time, and enjoy what's in front of you.
Person: Don't you feel like you are upsetting people?
Me: Me? Come on... I just want people to realize, life is short, don't waste it away.
Person: So what would be your idea to fix this?
Me: Start selling the pumpkin spice stuff at the START of fall (September 23) and not before. Mind you, it's not even real pumpkin flavor... it's just cinnamon flavoring that knows somebody... Just like champagne, it's ginger ale that knows someone.
Person: Wedding's getting close. You excited?
Me: With 61 days to go, I'm taking it a day at a time. You know, we started at 439 days, and we are this close. It's not really hit me yet.
Person: Have your schedule together???
Me: Yep, I'll begin with a gym day from 6:00-8:00, I will probably have my opening statement all written out and posted at 7:00am. At 8:25, after I depart the gym, ill pick up donuts and orange juice for the men. At 8:45, I'll get myself a shower and all spruced up... I want all my guys there by 9:00-9:15... this way we're all set to go as soon as the limo gets in (10:30am sharp). Wedding is at 11am.
Person: Looking forward to football season?
Me: Yep, Ravens had a 1-3 preseason but that's ok, I'm looking at the bright side because every preseason that the team has managed 0, 1, or 2 preseason wins, they've averaged 10 to 12 wins and got a playoff berth.
Person: How about college football?
Me: My expectations with Maryland aren't as high, but I'd like to see them get to 6+ wins to get themselves a bowl. I'm hoping that the game vs. Rutgers last year when we blew the lead wasn't a turn of events for what's to come this season. I really just like watching college football all together because it's great to see what the kids can do before the NFL.
Person: I know you are a college basketball person, so what's your take on the upcoming Maryland Terrapins season after a surprising 2nd place finish in the Big 10.
Me: Yep. I was very surprised that the Terrapins did so good when people picked them to finish 8th or worse. There were lazy players the previous season and Turgeon fired them pretty much. I didn't think they would have a team with all the losses. But the moves the Terps made along the way with a highly ranked recruiting class.
Person: So how's the house coming along?
Me: It's pretty much done. Can't thank my fiance's mom and my fiance herself for doing the painting. Lord knows I am no good at it.
Person: With the fall coming up, what's some events you are looking forward to, aside from the wedding and honeymoon?
Me: Of course Thanksgiving with the fam, Christ the King Sunday, and the start of Advent. I like Advent because the vestments are happy and we are singing songs of great joy. Before which, we have to get through Thanksgiving and all that food.
Person: You're planning on doing some working out beforehand right?
Me: Yep, get up nice and early, get a long workout in, try to get at least 3 or 4 hours in.
Person: Are you going to be...
Me: If you say, my usual blogs about Thanksgiving, buckets of gratitude, Christmas, letters from Bethlehem, and etc... Yeah, you're right.
Person: I can't wait to read them.
Me: Got to write them first.
---
Until next time, this has been questions to the editor.
~ J
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment