Friday, October 31, 2014

Questions the Editor VI: Halloween Edition



Hello,

And a happy halloween to you all. It's another edition of questions to the editor and as per the rule, our interviewer's identity shall not be revealed.

Person: Halloween doesn't mean much to you anymore now does it?

Me: Nope, I am no longer a child. Last year I was the hero from Crystalis and I still have that knightly costume in my closet yet I am not wearing it tonight.

Person: Do you dislike halloween or something?

Me: Actually? No. It's more and more turning into kids holidays. We'll probably just hand out candy. If we see any Elsas, Annas, or frozen songs being sung.... Oh geez, just pass me the bottle.

Person: Don't like Frozen?

Me: Aw hell no! It's probably the most annoying movie on record. I don't care if it made $1,000,000,000 at the box office. STILL ANNOYING!

Person: So what do you remember best about Halloweens of years past

Me: I remember my first Halloween when I went out as Q-Bert because it was my favorite video game character at the time. My brother, sister, and I walked up and down several streets in our neighborhood and earned a lot of "booty."

Person: So your brother's ghostbusters costume is the talk of the town huh?

Me: Well, he seems to have pretty much won halloween. He spent a lot of money putting the outfit together plus the proton pack.

Person: You could make something like that...

Me: The only creation ability I have is in writing, not via putting stuff together. I just don't seem to be good at handy work like so.

Person: What is your favorite Halloween candy?

Me: Anything with peanut butter in it. I love chocolate and peanut butter. It just goes together. I'm a big chocolate and peanut butter kind of person. I always hated it when I hit the bottom of the barrel because it was just tootsie rolls and crap like so.

Person: So what do you got planned for Halloween this year?

Me: Looks like we're hanging out with Joanna's cousin's fam and taking the kids out trick or treating. I'm making my famed buffalo chicken and cayenne dip.

Person: This is post 98, getting ever closer to number 100. Going to do anything special for post number 100?

Me: Yes, I'm going to write a letter to my subscribers and Facebook friends. That'll probably be what I do. It's just a nice idea to get out to my good friends and neighbors, I'm really excited about it too.

Person: How would you rate your October?

Me: After the 31st, I'll be happy that October is over and we will getting closer to the end of the church offseason and starting the new liturgical year. All Saints Day will be tough because in the Methodist terms, Nansy's automatically a saint.

Person: So that's all for the day, I hope you have a good Halloween.

Me: Yep! See you next time.

Sunday, October 26, 2014

Sunday Sermon: Thank You, Martin Luther

(Credit: Cafe Press)

Hello,

Today is Reformation Sunday in the church where most churches will sing "A Mighty Fortress is our God" as one of the primary hymns that Luther wrote over his lifetime.

Today is the day of the reform, modernization, and break away of the Christian Church from the Roman Catholic Church. Many other denominations of the Christian religions of following the way of Luther. Luther is the prime reason why we have so many "breakaway" denominations.

It all began like this:

Johann Tetzel was selling indulgences to raise money to pay for St. Peter's basilica. Luther questioned such an idea by basically saying: Uh? What? Someone has got to do something about this.

Martin Luther wrote to Albrecht, the Archbishop of Mainz, protesting the sale indulgences which was basically a payment of money for the forgiveness of sins. Luther was furious at how the Catholic Church was making people pay money for the forgiveness of sins.

Luther was angry and on all hallow's eve in 1517, he nailed the 95 theses to the church's wall. Trust me, Luther knew what he was doing and he was confident that the message would get out to the rest of the land. He made it clear that changes were coming much like the Italian Renaissance. (http://www.spurgeon.org/~phil/history/95theses.htm)

Some of the Theses basically nail the Pope for his recklessness

Theses 35, 36, 37, and 42 basically slam the door on the Pope. 47 basically says: They don't have to buy the indulgences if they don't want to. You can't force them to do that!

Theses No. 48 basically says: The Pope wants your prayers for himself, not Jesus himself... (Ouch...)

Out of all 95: 62 is probably the best. It states that the greatest treasure is Holy Gospel and the True Church of the Lord. (You darn skippy!)

Many were impressed by the theses. Word got to the Pope. Pope Leo X was absolutely infuriated by what Martin Luther said. He issued a papal bull which condemned the actions of Luther (Exsurge Domine of 1520). Not to mention, he told Martin Luther to stop preaching.

Luther said: Seriously? You need to do better than that. I'm going to continue to preach the good word of Christ.

Leo X and H.R.E. Charles V summoned him with the Edict of Worms in 1521, along with Holy Roman Emperor Charles V by declaring him a heretic. But Luther was completely unfazed.

Charles V's argument that indulgences were profitable and forgave one of their sins... As stated here: (http://www.cresourcei.org/creededictworms.html)

But what Luther was basically saying; You can't buy god's grace, love, and salvation, you just can't.

Catholic church said to placate the crowd: YESHYACAN!

Luther was declared a heretic, was excommunicated, yet however escaped arrest and stayed in inclusion in Wittenberg.

He wrote many teachings that are still in use today and Christians alike (even catholics) should be proud of the work he did. Luther himself basically said: This is not right, how can this be right... Today we start anew and it starts with a new church and a new lease on Christianity.

---

Reformation Day is basically a day where Martin Luther finally put the Catholic Church in it's place. The Church of Christ was reformed. Baptists, Anabaptist, Methodists, and many major denominations saw Luther as a savior that broke the communal stronghold on the Catholic Church. While yes, the Catholic Church does have a lot of adherents... Lutheran became the 1st "breakaway" religion of Christianity as he basically belted the Pope and said: "Really fella? Really? This is my church and you aren't going to have a hand in it. Today, we start fresh!"

Methodists have also embraced Reformation Day as a sort of day of "freedom."

In modern times, the Pope has managed to spread dialogue with the World Lutheran Federation. John Paul II, Benedict XVI, and even Francis.

Francis himself has called for much more improved relations with the Lutheran church. In fact, Francis even had dialogue with the Lutheran Church and was extremely impressed with their teachings.

JP2 was a much-respected pope by the Lutheran Church because he started the talks. The head of the Lutheran Church was actually very impressed by the Pope as JP2 was a modernizer unlike some of his predecessors. JP2 basically modernized the current Catholic Church into respecting all the religions, a lot of the hardliner cardinals didn't like the idea but the Pope said: "I'm in charge, so shut up."

---

Let's take a look at some famous Lutherans:

Sports:
Calle Johansson (NHL Player)
Nicklas Backstrom (NHL Player - Strict Adherent)
The Earnhardts
The Jarretts
Tom Brady (Yup, walked away from the Catholic Church)
Paul Molitor (Joined the church following his battle with drugs)
Troy Aikman

Television News:
Verne Lundquist
Gretchen Carlson

Music
Ace Frehley of Kiss (never misses a service)
Dana Carvey
Kirsten Dunst
Andy Richter

Composers:
The Bachs
George Frederich Handel

Business:
Craig Culver
Robert Cade
Ed Kruse

So there's a number of big names who are famous Lutherans. Nicklas Backstrom to me came as a shock because of the Church of Sweden.

---

Do I have a problem with the Catholic Church? Of course not, it's just a different religion, we are worshipping the same god, thing is, the Catholic Church is much more restrictive.

It's just different. I'm going to be going to Saturday Masses with Joanna but I know in my mind, I'll never become a Catholic. To me, Luther made the reforms that put Christianity on the fast track and it was a complete breakaway from the common Catholic Church.

Do I have a problem with the Pope? Nope, JP2 modernized it, Benedict XVI cared for it, and Francis is cleaning it up.

---

So today? The church is in the modern days and capacities. New teachings are being found and ways to spread the good word.

I say: Thank you Martin Luther.

I stay with my Lutheran ethics and Methodist teachings. I'm just that kind of guy.

~ Joshua

Friday, October 24, 2014

Questions to the Editor V



Hello,

Another question and answer session with person, to protect his identity, he will remain "person"

Person: Seems like people are still getting on you about the anti-hashtag movement, especially your sister.

Me: Who cares. I'm allowed to have an opinion on things. Maybe they ought to come out with a new language called hashtagian. I've kept out of the hashtag movement and I will always stay out of it. Like I continue to say: Even though we're speaking english, we're not speaking the same language.

Person: What's your stance against it?

Me: Personally, I don't understand why people use them. Why are they trying to do or inform?

Person: Well, you've already stated that you will not hashtag your wedding...

Me: Don't even mention the word.

Person: Anywho, what's the latest on wedding planning?

Me: We've already turned in our guest lists and we're going to go over them step by step. I mean, the hardest thing is putting together the guest list because you really don't know who you are going to invite and what not. You want to invite the closest friends and family. My stand is: "It's not what have you done for me then.. It's what have you done for me lately?" I picked out 60 people on my hard limit and that's how it is. If you didn't get invited, I am sorry, we didn't have rom

Person: What are you looking forward to as Election Day comes up?

Me: Larry Hogan winning this election. I keep hearing so many different things about leads and what not but what it all comes down to is Nov. 4th. People need to get out there and vote. Exercise that right to vote.

Person: What would you do as Governor of Maryland?

Me:

1. I'd reinstate the death penalty. If the crime fits the punishment, you deserve death.

2. Stop all construction projects until a full audit performed by our comptroller and accountants are performed of what we are spending money on.

3. If I hear of one EARMARK or PORK BARREL PROJECT. I will immediately reject it

4. I will use executive orders to get my laws across.

5. Do a full audit of where the casino money is going to. If it is going to somewhere other projects and construction. There'll be a problem. I will make those responsible face the SEC or other court proceedings. I will also make sure that NONE of that money is entering politician or special interest group pockets.

6. Shut down the Maryland Health Exchange Insurance website and say: We are NOT submitting to OBAMACARE!

7. Allow for law-abiding citizens to enjoy concealed carry of handguns. We will base our system off of Texas and Oklahoma. Background checks, 3-5 day waiting period, and also classes on gun safety. I am steadfast follower of the NRA and our 2nd amendment rights.

8. Put more security in our schools by putting in armed volunteer corps. This will create JOBS and keep our schools safe. Also allow for our teachers to carry law enforcement grade pepper spray provided they take classes on the use.

9. Revoke the "Sanctuary City" charter for Baltimore.

10. Revoke the "Maryland Dream Act" law. Illegals have no business being in our schools and colleges. They are not "NEW AMERICANS", they are ILLEGAL!!!!

11. Extend the General Session by 30 days to 120 days. Lawmakers will also meet twice a month after Sine Die.

12. If the budget expenditures are even more than $1 over, it will be vetoed.

13. English will become the OFFICIAL LANGUAGE of the state. OFFICIAL. LEARN IT!

14. ID will be required to vote. End of story. I don't understand why the supreme court, US Congress continue to prevent ID from being used. It stops people for putting in multiple votes, it confirms citizenship, eligibility, and age requirements. It also STOPS VOTER FRAUD

15. I will probably be the most anti-illegal immigration governor there is. I will REINFORCE the federal law by allowing document checks of immigration status. It's called REINFORCING THE FEDERAL LAW. That's what Arizona was doing all this time and the DOJ said: That's not nice, you can't do that. I personally applaud Jan Brewer for what she attempted to do. Its only if you committed a misdemeanor of some sort and if they suspect you are in here illegally, then our law enforcement should have the right to check immigration status.

16. Voting will be held on election day ONLY, there will be NO EARLY VOTING.

17. Reduce business and corporate taxes to invite a better and friendlier environment for new businesses and businesses to come here. However, I will tax CEOs hard and reduce taxes for the working and middle class.

18. I will be a union-buster and will sign "Right to work" legislation.

---

Person: WOW! You'd certainly set quite an agenda

Me: I would not stop until I was satisfied. See, we have far too many uneducated voters out there and they need to get educated on the issues. My biggest concern is taxes. I don't want my children growing up broke.

Person: I guess you heard that Honey Boo Boo got cancelled

Me: Yup, Thank god... We need less Kardashians and Honey Boo Boo... We need more Phil Robertson and Duck Dynasty. Whatever happened to television that promoted "good" in the world.

Person: So what do you think of this UNC-Chapel Hill scam

Me: Just goes to show you that student-athletes are too powerful. We need to reduce their scholarships, take away tax-exempt statuses from schools, and check academic guidelines. This is a joke.

Person: That about wraps it up, I guess we will see you soon, right?

Me: Yes you will.

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

The show goes on

Hello,

Life has it's many twists and turns... we all grow up... we get married... have children... grand children... and eventually we pass on.

Life has no reverse button at all, no rewind, no nothing, once that second is gone, it's never coming back.

Despite the lows that I've had to endure over my time as a member of this planet, I've conquered it.

And you know what, you should conquer your inner demons and just let the show go on.

I know it's not much of a post but... remember, the show does go on.

~ Joshua

Sunday, October 19, 2014

A Sunday Sermon: Pentecost 20, Advent, and My tastes in music

Taken from the Disney Wiki - Pastoral Symphony by Beethoven

Hello,

You know, life is like a book, you are the author, and what you do is the written part. I'm on Chapter 27 of my book and next year, I will have ended that chapter and began a new one.

All the events that happen in your chapter is written in your life's book. Some of the big events that transpired in 2014 were this:

1. Celebrated the New Year with my now fiance
2. Got a new car
3. Ended my 8 year tenure at my old job and got a new one
4. Started briefing people
5. Losing a new friend in Nansy
6. Taking my first major trip since 2012

Who knows what will happen in the last days of 2014. 2014 was the continuation of my miraculous renaissance starting in August of 2013 and it still continues to this day. I'm working harder than ever, saving more money, I'm doing all the things I couldn't before. It just feels like my life has definitely turned around for the better!

Next year, with me getting married, more challenges I know are coming. The challenges of being a great husband, a father in years to come (maybe '16 or '17), working harder to get to where I want to in life, and just trying to be a success.

Happiness awaits to anyone who seeks it and it's shown in so many ways.

With November and December arriving, we prepare for the holidays that await us. Thanksgiving... Christmas... The excitement and expectant waiting in advent. The works.

4 Sundays remain in Pentecost... the offseason is coming to a close... everyone starts to return to church and the wondrous season of Advent begins November 30

People should be joyous at the closing of Pentecost as it is the longest season of the liturgical year. Catholics call it Ordinary Time, Lutherans just call it Pentecost, Methodists go with Kingdomtide.

November is also the start of a new routine. I, the one who is the NON-catholic marrying the catholic, I have decided to go to Saturday Late Afternoon mass at 5:00 pm and she'll come to my church service on Sundays to hear me sing.

That routine will begin soon.

----

Speaking of Advent, It's just hard to believe that Advent is slowly but SURELY well on it's way.

I certainly love the season of Advent, filled with joy, happiness, beautiful colors... everything that's enjoyable.

Pastor Mark usually puts on a joyous sermon filled with laughter and joy. I'm already ready for when Advent comes around.

----

Meanwhile, you all wanted to know my tastes in music.

My favorite groups/singers: 30 Seconds to Mars, Foster the People, VonLichten, ES Posthumus, Enya, Reba McEntire, Above and Beyond, DJ Tiesto, Ministry of Sound

My favorite songs:
Messias - HV 56 Pastoral Symphony No. 13 - Handel
Revati 24 - VonLichten
Westerlund 1 - VonLichten
Tannhauser: Pilgrim's Chorus - Richard Wagner
Mercer 3 - VonLichten
Liller 7 - VonLichten
Jupiter - Holst
Mercury - Holst
Mars - Holst
Uranus - Holst
Hurricane - 30 STM
Kings and Queens - 30 STM
Walk on - Reba McEntire
With You I am - Reba McEntire
Any kind of mashup done by MoS
Caribbean Blue - Enya
New York Groove - Ace Frahley
I want to Rock and Roll all night - Kiss
November Rain - Guns 'n Roses

I'l even openly admit that "Where does my heart beat now" by Celine Dion is a favorite of mine too. Reason, I sang it to Joanna on our first trip to Atlantic City together and she was REALLY shocked that I even knew the words!!!

See, I'm a Country Rock Classic New Age kind of guy

When it comes to country music and I, I figure it as a story of loves, patriotism, everything. Country music has the most god-bearing soul in music.

Classical music basically puts you in a relaxing mood. You picture yourself walking through a moonlit forest at night, looking at water falls, fields of green... If you don't think classic music is fun, you're wrong. Pope Benedict XVI said it best when classical music "penetrates the soul."

Enya's probably the most ultimate New Age artist there is. Using 80 tracks of her own voice to record her music. That's absolutely amazing to me in more ways than you can believe.

I'll defend my former co-worker Jeff and say Kiss is probably the greatest rock 'n roll band assembled.

November Rain is probably rock's GREATEST masterpiece ever written. Slash's guitar solo is probably the greatest solo ever done. You can't go wrong with what he did in that solo. A pretty amazing one at that.

Well, that will wrap it up for Post 94...

~ Joshua

Saturday, October 18, 2014

Questions to the Editor IV


Hello,

I had another sit down with someone that wanted to ask me questions. To protect his identity, he will be called "person."

Person: How was your first concert?

Me: Well, it's probably something I might not do again given the fact that I've never really been interested in any bands, singers... etc. I mean, it was fun, but I was stewing because we lost game 3 of the ALCS. Reba McEntire put on a great show but... in terms of going to see another concert, I don't think I'll ever see one again.

Person: Tough loss huh?

Me: I've waited 27 years for the O's to win a championship, guess I'll have to wait longer, eh?

Person: Who would you love to see in concert if you had the opportunity?

Me: I don't think she does concerts but probably Enya.

Person: Interesting singer?

Me: Yeah, I was first exposed to her music way back when we went to visit my mom's parents. My Uncle Jeff played her music and I liked it a lot. I also remember we watched a music video of Caribbean Blue, which to be frank has to be one of her finest songs. We NEVER went to the next song though. I don't understand, the only I remember from that is a bright light in space.

Person: Next topic, what do you think of the current ebola crisis going on?

Me: In my opinion, it's probably going to be a short crisis and then it's going to fade away. I figured we were going to see another edition of the black plague or a long-range pandemic. But I'm praying for those affected by this and hope they get well quickly. Nothing really much to be scare of but you definitely have to take the precautions necessary.

Person: Now that baseball season is over with, what do you usually do?

Me: Watch the Ravens. I mean, I'm glad that Flacco's got a new system to work with and the team is off to an "under the radar" start. I have the Capitals and Hurricanes as well. I'd really like to go to another Capitals game sometime in the future.

Person: What kind of sports fan do you consider yourself?

Me: Just the ultimate sports fan who doesn't go to games, but expresses himself by yelling at the TV and being that kind of fan. Trust me, my mom has got many headaches and migraines when I yell.

Person: Superstitions? Have any?

Me: Not at all. I don't believe in superstitions.

Person: In terms of hall of famers, who would you like to meet down the road?

Me: If it's baseball? I'd probably would like to meet Hank Aaron. Hank Aaron faced so much adversity in his career and he shattered Babe Ruth's record. I still recognize him as the ultimate homerun king. It's not Sadaharu Oh or Barry Bonds. No way. Aaron is the true homerun king.

Basketball? Everyone wants to meet Michael Jordan and Phil Jackson, but I'd like to meet Karl Malone. I never watched basketball in my time, mostly just college basketball but Karl Malone was probably the one person I would've loved to see win a ring, him and John Stockton. Magic Johnson, I'd love to meet as well because he's lived a normal life despite being HIV positive.

Hockey? Kenny Dryden. Definitely... One of the finest goalies there was. Won 79% of his games, managed a number of Stanley Cups. He was from what I understand a fun goaltender to watch.

Football? Don't really have anyone in mind. Maybe Ray Guy. Finally after all this time, a punter got elected to the hall-of-fame and he's one player you could look at and say: Hey, he won games.

Person: Overall, what's your favorite sport?

Me: Baseball comes first. Once that's over with, I go to football and hockey.

Person: You went to two games this year, kind of a low huh?

Me: Doesn't matter. I wasn't upset. Life has many surprises and priorities are changing.

Person: You've been watching a lot of "Reba" lately, eh?

Me: Yep, sure have.

Person: What character can you most relate to?

Me: Van. I'm kind of dimwitted like him, I love my sports, and I always seem to have a comedic flare up. Reba too. She really cares about her family and son-in-law too.

Person: Do you think Kyra was really misunderstood on the show?

Me: I think Kyra was ignored a lot for her issues and no one listened to her. She knew all about the problems in the house but her sarcasm is what made it funny. I can relate to Kyra in way because she made a lot of changes to her priorities in life.

Person: Priorities are definitely changing for you...

Me: Yep, and life goes on. I guess I'll see you next time, huh?

Person: Yep!

Sunday, October 12, 2014

Governor Christie: End full service gas.

Dear Governor Chris Christie,

I have been a "frequent" visitor to the state of New Jersey over the past few months and believe me, your state has been kind enough to have a great area to gamble and an Ocean City that's better than my own state's. But Mr. Governor, you really need to end full service gas, we are not in the 1950's anymore. It has been nostalgic and a thing of the past.

We are in the modern era of automobiles and technology. People need to stop being lazy, learn to get out of their cars, and pump the gas themselves. Safety has drastically improved since the "good ol' days" and personally, the only people who should have their fuel assisted to them are disabled people. It's time to tell your people that govern: IT'S TIME TO LEARN!

You should make special provisions to the law in the cases of the tourists who don't require help. We can do things ourselves!

My problem is this: I don't want some nobody tinkering with my car, I'm well capable of staying AT my car to do it myself, and I'm not disabled.

Governor Christie, I respect you very much because you've done a lot of good promoting the good word of your beaches and tourism to the folks across the nation. However, you do realize that your state is still stuck in the 50s until you stop allowing full-service gas and tell your people: You need to learn to do it yourself.

I understand jobs and the economy, but I also understand that we're getting lazy. Did you know that 97% of the attendants that fill the gas ARE IN FACT the owners. You wouldn't really suffer much of a loss in jobs at all. Gas attendants are a thing of the past!

I implore you to end full service gas and get your state into MODERN times.

Thank you,
~ Joshua

Monday, October 6, 2014

The Fall of the Dark Period... A Rise of the Renaissance

(Courtesy: Wikimedia - The Roma Gianicolo Tempietto de Bramante)

Hello,

Florence, Italy, also known as "Firenze" to the Italian folk was known quite well as the birthplace of the Renaissance period. Scholars were given new text and new plans were drawn up for new architecture in the land. There wasn't much of a feudal system but merchants reigned supreme.

(Courtesy: Wikipedia - Lorenzo de ' Medici)

Let's take Lorenzo de'Medici for example. He's credited with restoring the fragile peace of the nations in the Italian Republic. He was also apart of the mature phase of the Golden Age of Florence. Not to mention, he was extremely rich, with over 125,000 florin to his name. However, his fortune plummeted to 58,000 because he was better suited as the politician over the banker. Yet he is credited as face of the maturation of the Italian Renaissance. It was certainly a renaissance for Italy with him around.

----

Now, we all have periods where we are just questioning and doubting ourselves. Take Thomas for example, he was called doubting Thomas because he did not believe that Jesus Christ was alive and well. It was said in John 20:25 - "Unless I see the nail marks in his hands and put my finger where the nails were, and put my hand into his side, I will not believe."


John 20:26-28 writes: "A week later his disciples were in the house again, and Thomas was with them. Though the doors were locked, Jesus came and stood among them and said, “Peace be with you!” Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here; see my hands. Reach out your hand and put it into my side. Stop doubting and believe." Thomas said to him, “My Lord and my God!""

Doubting Thomas had a renaissance, he believed because he had touched the hand of the crucified lord himself.

----

Baseball players can have a down year one year and then a great year the next. Take Nelson Cruz for example. Last year, he was slammed for the biogenesis scandal, despite which, he still hit 26 home runs in 72 games and was on pace for about 41-49. Next thing you know, he's suspended for 50 games and pretty much the rest of the season.

No team wanted to go near him except the Baltimore Orioles who came a-callin' saying "Hey Cruz, c'mon over."

This year, he hit .271 with 40 home runs and 108 knocked in. He's also cleaned himself up mightily after his long suspension and has helped the team to the Eastern Division Championship.

----

Celebrities see the resurgence if they have a bomb at the box office. They may come out with even better movie that gives them a lot of money. It's also revitalized their careers. Take Betty White for example. She went into sort of a "silent period" before that Super Bowl commercial came out. She's experienced quite the renaissance of her career well into her 90s.

----

From 2008-2013, I called it the dark period... a lot of things didn't go correct and I was still having trouble even picturing my future it was that dark. Also I was incredibly angry with the lack of support I was getting for the pursuit of my dreams.

A renaissance year can happen in so many ways, take me for example. In August 2013, My slump was continuing... My work was being overshadowed by so many things that happened over the time period, not to mention the fact that I was still seething at a job that gave me no respect even though I busted my tail. I did get a promotion, but I was still incensed that something was wrong.

(Cue Holst's Jupiter: Bringer of Jollity) 

But then in August of 2013, the Rise of the Renaissance began. I was singing a lot better in choir, have a new girlfriend (who I am getting married to now. :)), began to be brash and berating my co-workers for continued failures and laziness, went to more classes, got more involved with church, and the period was just beginning.

The renaissance for me seems to be still going on. I also remember coming full circle with Joanna's family. Just the fact that I was around with all the periods that Nansy was around, that was great. Renaissance over right? Wrong. It only continued after I got a new car, blasted through my 5-year checks, found my purpose in life, and got a new job.

The renaissance of Joshua was coming full circle and it wasn't over yet as I took to Ocean City, New Jersey and had myself a grand time with her family and friends.

And life couldn't be any better as I proposed marriage to Joanna and she happily accepted after the "WAIT A MINUTE, DID YOU ASK MY FATHER FIRST!?"

Yep, November 7, 2015... Get ready for "THE EVENT"

----

Speaking of: Looks like things are finally in full swing with "The Event", the parents are on board and they still got to meet. Once we get things together, we're good to go.

----

You know, come to think of it, people are going to start thinking I am a philosopher with that title.

Don't judge a book by it's title or cover. Just because the title looks bad or the cover's ugly, doesn't mean it won't be a great book.

----

To me, the Dark Period is coming to an end and the Renaissance period has begun and may it continue. 

~ Joshua

Thursday, October 2, 2014

J on TV: TBS sucks... PERIOD

Hello,

TBS has long been known as a real funny television station with Seinfield... The Big Bang Theory... Mike and Molly... But their ill treatment of the Orioles is completely that: ILL ADVISED!!!!

Brian Anderson, Dennis Eckersley, and Joe Simpson were absolutely horrid with their announcing and one-sided nature.

Can I just say to you guys: Were you ever going to say great things about the O's?

This was really horrible announcing all game long and they were just as bad as Ernie, Cal, and John in 2012. They were absolutely abysmal.

TBS went nuts when the Tigers hit back-to-back homeruns, went crazy when Cabrera when he hit his homerun and they acted like the Tigers were going to steal the win in Baltimore. Actually they said Baltimore stole a win in their own ballpark. Everything the O's did was just a complete yawner to them.

How did the O's steal a win in our own ballpark? They had an 8-run 8th inning!!! Geez, this is probably one of the worst announcing performances by these fools.

They continued to claim that the division win was a complete fluke because the Yankees and Red Sox were down and the AL East was bad altogether.

Are you seriously kidding me, TBS? The O's won the division FAIR AND SQUARE!!!!!

I wonder what's to come tomorrow??? The announcers acting like yesterday was a flukey win.

Hey TBS, knock it off... seriously...

~ Joshua