Thursday, December 24, 2015

Christmas Eve Sermon: Bearing witness to history

"In the evening we gather together, not as enemies, but as friends and family. This is not a night for tyranny or hatred. But a time of great rejoicing. Hug one another just as Jesus gave us a hug telling us that he would arrive." - Unknown

"And there were in the same country, shepherds keeping watch over their flock by night. And lo, an angel of the Lord came upon them, and the glory of the Lord shone round about them and they were so afraid. And the angel of the Lord said to them: Fear not, for behold I bring you tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people. For unto you is born this day in the city of David, a savior, which is Christ the Lord. And this shall be a sign unto you; You will find the babe wrapped in swaddling clothes laying in a manger. And suddenly there was with the angel, a multitude of the heavenly host praising God, and say, Glory to God in the Highest! And on Earth! PEACE, GOODWILL TOWARDS ALL!" - Luke 2

Good Evening,

Tonight is a day of great rejoicing, smiling, happiness, and beyond. Today is not a day to be tearful, fearful, or anything of the such. Luke 2 reminds us not to be afraid this Christmas at all and as we shouldn't be.

Tonight, we will be witnesses to history and the destiny that was written by the power of the bible with teachings of the prophets. Our own history and destiny are written when we do stuff with our families, smile, and take in life. Life is a very powerful thing we take for granted and we don't stop to think how we got here.

Christmas is a time of great joy and birth. It's also a time for renewal.

Renewal means fixing things. Like for instance, fixing our friendships and mending them because we did something terribly wrong. Renewal means, patching things up with significant others. Renewal means taking in family and their importance in our lives.

Tonight, we listen to legendary and wonderful stories of the Messiah who will join us as a baby sent to save the world and not condemn it. Jesus is a living and walking legend and human among us to save the human race for Satanic power, tyranny, and sin.

We are not perfect in any sort of way. I account myself for those people as well as I have done wrong in my life. I made some really big mistakes and also had to face down some of the biggest troubles of my humanity. But I can give a lot of love to the fact that I made some really big changes and took in some new things that happened to me in 2015. God gave me a wonderful wife named Joanna, gave me a home, food to eat, family to laugh with, and beyond.

Christmas is just like Thanksgiving. We are giving thanks for everything that happened this year. At Church, we become the witnesses to history. We see the Glory of the Lord in the highest heaven above. We take a look at how Jesus shaped the landscape for the world and how he wanted it to be.

But this year and for the last 60 years, we can honestly say that Christians are constantly fighting a losing battle.

Recently, in the South, there were damaging storms that caused nearly $840,000,000 in damages, destroying 1850 homes, killing 12 (including 4 children), and injuring nearly 405. 98 Tornadoes dropped yesterday and the Freedom From Religion Foundation called it a "Punishment."

The activist stated: "This is a punishment for praising a non-existent human being."

How cold-hearted could this group get? How much more cold-hearted can we see this group get? It's a total calamity and very wrong. 

Many nativity scenes were removed thanks to these individuals. Christmas has no meaning it seems anymore thanks to the political correctness needed along with respect we should give to other religions.

Christians seem to be the most tolerant of all the religions. Christianity is falling apart at the hands of the power of the 1st amendment which is wrongly interpreted by Freedom From Religion Foundation (FFRF) as "Freedom From Religion" and not "Freedom of Religion." FFRF continues to use the endorsement of Jefferson's "Separation of Church and State" as a way to get the Christian murals of Christ's birth removed.

2015 saw some of the biggest slaps in the face to Christianity:

Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, after 76 years of having the Christmas Star flying in the night sky was forced to take it down thanks to the American Atheists group and also FFRF whom said it was a clear endorsement of the Christian faith... 76 years of staying up there. The Judge said it was a violation of the constitution but the mayor... in an act of defiance said it would stay up but American Atheists and FFRF said they would hit back even harder. The mayor took it down much to the annoyance of the Christian populace in order to appease the non-believers. The FFRF called it: "A crowning achievement." One Christian called it: "A downright shame that we are forced to take down a symbol of a human who was sent to save the world and not condemn it."

Bethlehem, New York was prepared to put up a mural of the nativity but they stopped themselves short after they were given a warning not to do it. The mayor decided against it. Another victory for atheists... and a slap in the face to Christians.

How damaging was this year: Atheist organizations took home more than $750,000,000 in legal fees, attorney costs, and everything from Christian organizations that they took to court. 3,000 nativity scenes were removed... 1500 murals of Jesus Christ were removed...

Christmas just doesn't seem to have a meaning anymore thanks to need for political correctness.

But you know what... Christmas does have a huge meaning! CHRIST! IT IS CHRIST'S BIRTHDAY AND WE SHOULD CELEBRATE.

I ask all Christians to get up, wish people a Merry Christmas, sing as loud as possible, and tell those atheist organizations to back off.

Ladies and gentlemen, let us be witnesses... let us all be witnesses to history tonight... Go to church, sing songs of heavenly joy, partake of the Lord's supper at his table, and bear witness to his miraculous birth.

JESUS WAS NOT SENT HERE TO CONDEMN THE EARTH, BUT TO SAVE IT! HE'S THE ULTIMATE SUPERHERO!

Sunday, December 13, 2015

Advent III: No one should be lonely on Christmas



Good Evening,

Edeka, a supermarket chain in Germany, released a holiday commercial that was extremely heartbreaking in so many ways. The Patriarch of the family seen in this youtube video provided by NEXTAVENUE-PBS: Edeka Holiday Commercial is very lonely for Christmas as his children can't make it because they are busy with their own lives. The father then feigns his death to get his children to come to holiday dinner. The children return home, upset over the death of their beloved father. However, when they enter the home, the house is all decorated for Christmas, and the table is set for dinner... The family is very confused... Then the father just APPEARS out of nowhere and everyone's stunned to see him. Afterwards, the grandchild runs up and hugs her grandfather, and everyone is so happy to see him.

The Christmas is happy and everyone's laughing and having themselves a great time.

---

Does the commercial go far as asked by NextAvenue-PBS?

---

In my opinion, it does not at all. It shows absolute importance of family. Family is the most important part of the Christmas season. Thanksgiving and Christmas are about family and making time for them.

Being lonely at Christmas is a huge heartbreak for anyone. No one should be lonely.

---

Pastor Mark today on his Sunday sermon made some wise remarks about when a person dies, you miss them a lot and no matter how long you yearn for them to come back... they won't... but you still miss them.

Just last year, my now-wife Joanna lost her grandmother Nansy (Audrey Maggio) to cancer. She still misses her every day. Nansy was the matriarch that kept the family together and as the glue, she was the authority figure.

She is still missed today.

---

This commercial shows how many families today aren't stressing the importance of staying together this holiday. We are in a go-go-go world which just keeps going.

Thanksgiving and Christmas are days to thank the Lord for the wonderful gifts bestowed upon us. It's really tragic to see how drastic people will go to get their families together this holiday but it is the truth of how lonely and deprivation is just an absolute killer.

Where it is very tough grieving over a loved one. We know that they are there in spirit. God loves all the children of his kingdom and we receive that "ultimate gift" at Christmastime when Jesus, our savior, comes down from the heavens above to save the world. He was not sent here to condemn it.

---

At Christmas, the joy and honor of being together is just very enlightening. Just to know that there are families out there willing to sacrifice everything and anything to have their families there. Loneliness at Christmas is a definite gut-wrencher, but making time for family is one of the keys to keeping it together.

So do yourselves a favor on Christmas... Christian folks should get dressed up and head to church and enjoy the lovely service prepared by the priests to their congregation. Then come home, have dinner, laugh, talk, drink, and be merry.

Open up gifts, hug your family members and tell them how much you love them. Laugh at breakfast, smile at each other, and praise God for his blessings at Christmas.

---

No one... absolutely no one... should be lonely at Christmas.

Thank you,
Joshua

Saturday, December 12, 2015

Sunday Sermon: Advent and Judgment

Hello,

Peace on Earth and goodwill to all...

Yeah about that...

---

Peace on Earth has been incredibly hard to achieve with the mass shootings and killings all around the world. The U.S.A. has seen a number of mass shootings this year and before. We've seen some of the deadliest mass shootings during the season of Advent. Just this past week, we had the San Bernardino shooting which killed 14 and injured 21... A few years back, it was the Sandy Hook shooting, which took the lives of 24, most of which were children. December has seen some of the worst mass shootings from people with the darkest hearts.

There has to be a better way to fix Peace on Earth and good will towards all. People are buying up guns to protect themselves. The United States Constitution allows for such a move but more activists are lining up saying that the NRA has to be stopped along with several other pro gun organizations. When it becomes clear that a gun is involved in a mass killing, the NRA is the one who is immediately given the finger point. They are a group that teaches gun safety, education, and care.

Once again, judgment... It's them, not the criminal

---

Peach on Earth has been very tough to achieve with the constant war on the holiday. It's gotten to the point where the atheist groups are trying to remove Christmas as a federal holiday.

More nativity scenes have been taken down than any other item during the holiday. You don't hear the news of Menorahs or Stars and Crescents being taken down. FFRF and other atheist organizations leave them alone.

This year, FFRF has managed to wipe out 1,091 Nativity Scenes, stop 548 Christmas Pageants, and 240 Christmas Concerts because they say it sends "a religious message in a public area." Christianity has also seen an amazing drop in church attendance because of these vicious hate groups.

Yet... wait... Menorahs and Muslim items of interest are not being taken down and they are in public areas. Where's the complaints over that... These groups remain silent... they want to attack Christianity and everything that it stands for.

Christians though have managed to win a few battles including a big one in Kentucky where a Christmas Play which had a Christian message that was to go on as scheduled. However, they did not do the play due to undue pressure from many other religions including Satanism and beyond.

---

Christmas is a time of joy, celebration, rejoicing... More and more, we are giving into these groups and the judges are taking up for them.

---

We need to stop with this judgment of everything... How does everything offend everyone nowadays... Christmas trees are now: "Holiday Trees"... Christmas Pageants are now... Holiday Pageants and Bake Sale.

WHY must we take offense to everything!

We have a constitutional right to the FREEDOM OF RELIGION!!!! A constitutional right to BEAR ARMS!

This is a nation where God is no longer welcome. FFRF is sending out billboards that say: "Sleep in on Sundays", "Dear Santa, All I want for Christmas is not to go to Church. I'm too old for Fairy Tales."

It's amazing how far America has fallen off of its wagon. Soon, there will be no more Christmas, you can guarantee it.

---

~ Joshua

Sunday, December 6, 2015

Advent II: Christianity Strikes Back

Hello,
Advent's first half comes to an end today as 2015's "Road to Christmas" labors on. With many people still shopping for the many great gifts they will buy for their family members. It's just absolutely amazing how we have forgotten the true meaning of Christmas and it's just not the same anymore.

For starters, Christmas has seen nearly 750 lawsuits against Nativity Scenes, Plays, Concerts, and Festivals. The Freedom From Religion foundation has seen a 94% success rate over the past 5 years of wiping out Christmas displays. It's really sad when we've gone downhill so fast. We've forgotten the true meaning of Christmas. Christmas is not about Santa Claus, Reindeer, and Elves. It is about the birth of Jesus Christ and how he came to save the world and not condemn it. It says in the scriptures: "God did NOT send his son to condemn the world."

To continue, Christianity seems to be fighting back and judges are starting to counter the argument against FFRF. Christianity has actually started to win more cases thanks to the American Center for Law and Justice, the Becket Fund, and the Liberty Institute. One judge proclaimed that a Wichita, Kansas High School Nativity Play could go on as scheduled as he stated to the ACLU and FFRF: "Can't we have a little Peace on Earth without you guys trying to wipe it out?" That right there, I hail as quite possibly the BEST closing to the a lawsuit ever. The judge stated that it was about freedom of religion not freedom from religion. Christianity has been extremely and most tolerant of other religions. We do not condemn other religions as worshiping false prophets.

Christianity has lost many battles over the past 30 years but this year with everyone getting offended over everything right now, Christianity is beginning a huge assault on the shroud of the permanent destruction of Christmas and other religious holidays.

Do you see Christians going after Jewish holidays like Yom Kippur, Rosh Hashanah... or Muslim Holidays? No.

Why hasn't the ACLU, FFRF, and other non religious organizations gone after Jewish and Muslim holidays. They remain completely silent on the issue. If it's not Christianity, they don't go after it. Honestly, what makes them any different? THEY ARE RELIGIONS. FFRF and ACLU dismiss them as "Cultures."

---

In 1999, an anti-Christmas activist in Ohio by the name of Ganulin, brought suit to a court to challenge Christmas as a national holiday, calling it unconstitutional. The courts agreed to hear his case but ultimately, Christmas won thanks to a Dr. Seuss-like poem from Judge Dlott:

The Court with address this seasonal confusion
Erroneously believing Christmas merely a religious institution

Whatever the reason unconstitutional or other
Christmas is not AN ACT OF BIG BROTHER

Christmas is about joy and giving and sharing
It is about the child within us, it is most about caring

One is never jailed for having a tree
For not going to church, for not spreading glee!

The Court will uphold contradictory causes
"826 decreeing the ESTABLISHMENT" and "Santa" both worthwile "Claus(es)"

We are all better for Santa, the Easter Bunny too
and maybe the Great Pumpkin, to name just a few

An extra day off is hardly high treason
It may be spent as you wish, regardless of reason

The Court having read lessons of "Grinch"
REFUSES to play the role of Grinch!

There is room in this country and in all our hearts too
for different convictions and a day off too!

-------

Looking over the brief filed by Ganulin and also the court's intercession. The court NEARLY said ok, you got your wish! But thanks to quick thinking and an almost unanimous vote (The 2 judges resigning later on due to their beliefs)... Christmas was saved.

Is Christianity beginning to fight back. I believe so. FFRF is not winning as many cases as they were some time ago. Christianity is starting to make it's move for the throat saying: "YOU CAN'T ERASE SOMETHING THAT YOU CLAIM DOES NOT EXIST! THAT'S LIKE ROBBING AN EMPTY SAFE!" Christianity has won 50 cases this year but this a very long and hard road ahead.

Whoever that Judge is who said those words above... We thank you.

And to the judge that told FFRF and ACLU to take a hike... We thank you.

Christianity is one of the most tolerant religions out there. We don't pursue lawsuits when Jewish, Hindu, or Muslims want to do something that would potentially offend us. We merely turn the other cheek and just walk away.

Our first half ends today but the Road to Christmas continues on. Let us REJOICE! For the coming of our king.

Thursday, November 19, 2015

Our cruise, Paris, and Final Wedding Thoughts

(Credit: Wikipedia)


Hello,

We're coming home as husband and wife. A husband and wife who genuinely love and care about each other. :)

Well the honeymoon has officially come to a close and we are on our way back home after a long 7 day cruise to four different countries. It was a great experience to say the least and in general, having a premium drink package is pretty awesome.

Anyway, we took in the sun in Labadee... enjoyed the sights and sounds of Falmouth... bought jewelry in George Town, Grand Cayman... and went on a tour of the Mayan ruins and a cocoa factory in Cozumel, Mexico...

As we got on the boat, we realized that we were in for a huge treat. We decided to explore the boat before we went on our merry way to our stateroom (which wouldn't be open until 1pm). Our bags arrived at 5pm.

Our first day, since we were tired and we woke up at 2:00am, we figured we weren't going to do much and decided against getting a drink package because we knew we weren't going to drink. So we just settled for 1 drink apiece as we left. We will never forget what the cruise director said after the muster drill: "Ladies and Gentlemen, I have an important announcement, you are officially on... Vacation." (CHEERS AND APPLAUSE). I don't think the cruise director understood that everyone on the ship? Was at work.

We went to bed because we were DONE.

At Sea. We rode out Tropical Storm Kate but during the Captain's Meet and Greet. Captain Espen Been said: "We're going through a tropical storm, but no worries, we'll be ok." Certainly we were. All of the officers were like stooges just entertaining the crowd and having a good time with their honored guests.

Labadee was something else. Joanna and I took stayed on the beach for about 4 hours before we realized we were just roasting a lot and not really going in the water because it was awful slimy at the bottom and I cracked my toenail on a reef.

Falmouth was nothing to smile about. I mean, I heard the horror stories of what happens if you go outside of the gated area... so we stayed IN the gated area. Took to the shops, picked up a wooden stingray as a souvenir and we were off. We got one of the best pictures with Joanna and I standing in between both ships that were docked... That was probably our ultimate picture.

Next up was Grand Cayman. We walked around, took in the sights and sounds... Bought some jewelry (which definitely made the wife very happy except we forgot the British system of measurements... where a 7 means 6 in American sizing). But she got a Tanzanite gemstone as a free gift which was really great. I picked up a couple shot glasses for my co-workers and 2 shirts and a hat for myself.

Our final port of call was Cozumel where Joanna jumped on the excursion for the Mayan Ruins and the Island Tour. We explored Mayan history and indulged in Mexican Chocolate which is... really better than Hershey's by far. Hershey's just has too much sugar in it.

At Sea. We were riding the coast of the keys and Cuba and it was time to mark our final good-byes.

We approached the airport with sadness but knowing that we will be glad to do another one soon.

----

On Friday, while we were on our cruise, I popped on the television to find out that ISIS pulled out terrorist attacks in Paris that killed and wounded many.

I continue to say that we are closing in on another world war where we are going up against terrorism. I'm having a feeling that ISIL is going to merge with a lot of other terrorist groups and do more attacks.

People also questioned why I didn't show solidarity with France by changing my picture to show the colors of the French Tricolore. Easy. I'm showing solidarity with the WORLD because the WORLD has a lot of problems. For example, 2 suicide bombings in Lebanon, 142 Nigerian Girls murdered, Japan had a 7.0 and 8.2 earthquake, Mexico had a 5.0 earthquake... Those are just some of the things that are going on in this world that people CONTINUE TO IGNORE.

Obama doesn't understand that he just can't sit there on his duff waiting for stuff to happen. Clearly, he doesn't understand that if NATO Article 5 gets invoked that means International Law trumps the American Law on sending troops. He HAS to send them. France is at least showing some muscle while the US sits there like a bunch of wimps as spectators.

Our world is a completely broken place right now and it will take more than prayers to heal it. We will definitely need action as well. Prayers are very powerful but action is powerful as well. Changing your FB pic to the French Tricolore doesn't defeat terrorism. You show solidarity but it doesn't defeat it.

----

Final wedding thoughts:

Everything went amazingly well. The food was good, I managed to drink just 1 Kronenbourg 1664 but it seems like that was the beer that went incredibly fast. Hell, I think I may have helped France's sales of that beer.

Anyway, I want to thank everyone that was involved and helped us out with last minute things and also anything of the such.

I married Joanna for her sensibility, love, and outgoing personality. God saw her as the perfect fit for me.

My father gave me some advice: "Marriage is a union, a team, you work together" and that it is. One doesn't domineer over the other... Take a lesson, husbands. The first years will be difficult I'm sure, but down the road, I think we will be just fine. There'll be a child in our future. Not just yet. But in the future.

My mother kept hoping that I would get a dog in the house. But Joanna and I have made it clear: No dogs.

Yes, we did it, and have the rest of my life to spend with the most wonderful woman ever.

----

Thanks everyone

Monday, November 16, 2015

This is what victory looks like


This is what victory looks like
NOVEMBER 7TH, 2015

Thank you everyone for everything you have done for us in putting together this wedding and beyond. Thank you for all the gifts that you have bestowed upon us to get us started in life. The first year will be tough but with love, patience, and compassion, we will make it through. Together, we are victorious and strong.

Saturday, November 7, 2015

Opening Statement: Today's the day



OPENING STATEMENT
THE EVENT - 11/7/2015

Prelude: Today is the day that should've never have happened. A day that no one saw coming except the families who were involved in the planning, my fiance, and myself. After searching high and low... far and wide... It's all over with... today is the day. Today, I marry my best friend.

Good Morning,

According to many... this day should not have happened... To some, they thought my impending marriage to my fiance was a joke... To others, it was: "how did that happen..." or "who's that desperate..." or "what's his name..."

But it did happen and I finally get to tell these people and say: You've lost the battle and the war is over... I don't care what you think anymore... You mean nothing to me... especially the ones who were incredibly dastardly... You failed to break my spirit and will. The Lord protected me all these years and talked with me. He said: "Josh, don't worry about them, time to worry about you, and the time is now... Who cares about them... You made it this far and you can do it again."

----

I begin my opening statement with a few quotes

"A wife of noble character who can find? She is worth far more than rubies." - Proverbs 3:10

"I don't care how poor a man is, if he has a wife and family, he's rich." - Col. Sherman T. Potter

"The wife is your best friend, she's more than just your best friend, she should be a part of your own universe." - Jeff Foxworthy

----

Today is a day I claim more than just a victory. After I place that ring on her finger... and she places it on mine... I can honestly say I can finally declare a victory unlike any other.

In less than 4 hours, today's the day where I never expected to be, a day never expected would come, and a day I always thought was just going to be a dream. But that dream has officially become a reality as of today. As I look around my home today, I realize more and more that someone very special will be living with me because she will become something I never dared believe I would have. Today is the day in which I watch my future wife walk down the aisle, arm-in-arm with her father looking at her seeing that her little girl has grown up. But then he's going to pass her off to me saying: "This is my little girl, you take care of her...."

Today, it's a day that is solemn for the families knowing that these are the last kids they are sending off into the world and writing their own stories. A story that has many blank pages just waiting to have words and inscriptions on it. Those words and inscriptions can mean so many things. As we prepare to undertake this journey as husband and wife, we think about how we got here. It all began on that sunny, hot August 16th when the Orioles were playing the Rockies at Camden Yards. Right from the start, Joanna and I seemed to fit like a puzzle piece, snug yet firm. I kissed her during that 6th inning and from there, it was just complete magic.

It was really difficult to picture this in dreams, books, and websites. In this day in age, I never saw this coming.

I wrote a letter to Joanna today declaring my unlimited and infinite love to her. We went through our own trials and tribulations. There's been a lot of triumphs as well.

There is a Japanese proverb out there that says: "With one you are weak, but together... you are strong." Today is a day of institution... family institution and togetherness. It's when two families come together to share a collective moment that will be a forever bond.

Today is a day that I get to declare victory. A victory over the naysayers and people who claimed I would never get married. Today, I'm the winner. If this was game 7 of the World Series, I just made the final out. My wife-in-waiting? She's a winner too because she knows that she has a guy who will be her best friend from days on end. The naysayers are the losers and I care nothing for them. I wish no bad luck on them. But I care nothing for them.

Today is a day to shout praises to the Lord. Every day, I praise my Lord and savior for giving me the breath of life to wake up every morning. The Lord looked at me on Friday morning and said: "Josh, tomorrow, you will be taking a huge step forward in your life. Cherish the woman you will give your hand in marriage to. Love her, comfort her, keep her, and take care of her in sickness and in health." I told God that I will do all these things.

Today is a day that I keep a promise. The promise of marriage is to forsake all others for as long as I shall live and that goes double for my wife too. Marriage is a promise and a contract with God, knowing that when the rings go on, that means we are together forever. That ring changes your life for good.

Sure we will have fights, disagreements, and other stuff like so. No marriage is perfect and it will have it's tall mountains to climb, deep and long oceans to swim across, and beyond. I was told by my friend Bridget: "Just have fun with it... sure, there are inevitable things that will happen. But just have fun with it."

It will be a great day for both of us. We are ready to make a very large step in our lives. Be a part of each other's families... Hold each other close in the most difficult of times... Hug each other when we are feeling sad... And just be a great married couple....

When we are old and gray, watching our children grow up, and our grandchildren are running around in our backyard... I'll say to Joanna, "we did it, we made it through so many years, and look at us... Our children are college grads, we have grandchildren, the Lord has blessed us."

It is today, where we will begin our first seconds, minutes, and hours of being a married couple. I just hope I can hold back the tears knowing that our lives are going to change in just a blink of an eye.

---

It's not just my day to shine. But it is my friend Kaylyn's as well. I want to express my congratulations to my good friend as well. Kaylyn and I have known each other since 9th grade and we also work together at the same company. Today is her wedding day too and I want to share this statement with her as well. She's been nothing short of a fantastic friend and I wish nothing but the best for her. Mike, take good care of this girl. She's a great human being and you got a terrific wife-in-waiting.

---

To conclude,

Thank you everyone... Thank you for the support you gave me all these years... I thank everyone who has been nothing short of a great friend to me...

To my family, I love you... We've had our ups and downs, beginnings and ends, hard times and good times. As a family, we stick together, and know that it's never good-bye even when we are gone. We've made the most of everything. Mom and dad, you taught me right from wrong and kicked my butt when I needed it. But when I made a mistake, you would scold me for it but it didn't make you guys love me any less. I'm so proud to be a part of this family.

To my wife's family, thank you for accepting me for who and what I am. I am just an ordinary person who enjoys the good things in life. Thank you for everything you've done for me from start to finish. I appreciate the help with the house and beyond.

To my best friends and current co-workers, I'm glad you will be spending this day watching me take my first steps. You are a part of a big deal today and I can't tell you what it means to me to have you there.

To my groomsmen, thank you for stepping up and being a part of this. This is a day unlike any other and I wouldn't pass you guys up for anything.

To the bridesmaids, Joanna is the most special person in your lives. Thank you for being apart of her crew today.

And lastly, to my wife Joanna: You completed me and when you read that letter, you'll know how much you completed me.

---

Thank you.

I leave you all with a quote from Father of the Bride: "As my son Matty would say: Let's have a party."

Everyone wish me luck.
~ Joshua

Sunday, October 25, 2015

Reformation Sunday: End the intolerance

Hello,

Today is Reformation Sunday, the day that Martin Luther helped establish the first breakaway protestant religion by posting the 95 theses to the wall in 1517. It is a day that a new Christian religion separated from the Catholic Church.

Until the Mid-16th century, the Catholic Church was one of the primary sources of religion in the World. Martin Luther, who was a monk at the time, was absolutely appalled when people were buying indulgences from Johann Tetzel to "pay for the forgiveness of sins." Tetzel's belief was this: "That faith alone, whether fiduciary or dogmatic cannot justify man" and his belief is that the good works of charity can be obtained by donating money to the church.

Luther objected to the saying: "As soon as a coin in the coffer rings, a soul from purgatory springs."

Finally, Luther had enough and nailed the 95 theses to the church door. The reformation was underway. The Pope at the time, Leo X, who was a heavy spender at the time told Luther to recant his statements. But Luther said: "I will not."

---

Luther's establishment of a new Christian religion spurred a movement that brought Methodism, Reformed, and Evangelical protestants to the fold.

---

But now more than ever, the Reformation has spurred a movement. Where we seriously need to end the religious intolerance. We all need to come together despite our denomination and be grateful that our all-powerful and almighty LORD has kept the world from its breaking point. In today's world, Christianity is being eradicated in the middle east and in America as well. American Atheists and FFRF have continued their assault on any kind of monument to religion. But they will leave Jewish and Muslim items alone because they consider them cultures over religions.

FFRF has managed to win over 5,000 lawsuits concerning any religious-related item in the United States. Just recently in Oklahoma, the 10 commandments were removed from the Oklahoma Capitol Building citing violations of "church and state."

If it wasn't for Christ, there would be NO CHRISTMAS... NO EASTER... NO... NOTHING...

Thanksgiving is becoming even more secular as there has been many calls for Washington to stop with "giving thanks to God."

---

Christianity seriously needs a reforming. The Catholic Church should embrace Reformation Day as a day that... well.. maybe they can use a hand themselves with the myriad of controversy that has been leveled against them. Pope Francis should not take this day as a date to hate whom he has been called a "bitter thief," but as a date to reform and have a look at the big picture of things that are going wrong.

Reformation Day should be about all religions finding a way to "REFORM" and affiliate themselves better with Christ our Savior.

And To these hateful atheist organizations?

Leave the Christians alone, we are not doing anything wrong by praising the LORD we serve through good works and deeds. How can you continue to erase something that you claim "DOES NOT EXIST." If it doesn't exist, then how can you erase it? I don't understand. When we do something that's right, it's because we are attempting to triumph over evil's wicked bane.

---

Let us continue to "REFORM" in Christ. Catholic, Lutheran, Methodist, whatever religious denomination you follow with in Christ.

Wednesday, September 30, 2015

Letter to Pope Francis

Dear Pope Francis,

I appreciate you coming in peace to get us back on track again and we welcomed you with open arms and clear eyes.

I am a Methodist and a Lutheran, a mixed denomination person who has his criticisms of the Catholic Church, however, is very supportive of SOME of the positions you take. To be frank, I haven't got a problem with the church, it's just you do things differently than other religions...

First of all, I appreciate your stance on abortions. There's a thing called the "sanctity of human life" and planned parenthood has VIOLATED that sanctity several times by selling baby parts and live tissue. I don't really have an official stance on the right of abortion, but I seem to be getting to be more pro life than anything. Personally, if a girl is raped, has a baby, and she doesn't want it: Why kill it? Give it up for adoption if they don't feel they can handle the stress.

Second, I am very happy that you took a stand with the Lutheran church on the joint justification of the doctrine. Seems like you are very much doing your very best to make peace with the church that broke away from you over 600 years ago. But do not think of Reformation Day as a day of thievery by the Lutheran Church, think of it as a day in which new religious denominations were founded that prayed to the same god yet under differentiating circumstances. Understand

Third, It's time for you to back off from politics. You are head of a church, not a politician. Your job is to spread peace to the world, make nice to the warring nations, and keep the peace between the religions. It's not your job to tell politicians to tell us what we should and shouldn't do. As the head of the catholic church, you have one job, pray for the world and hope peace comes to it.

Finally, thank you for coming to America. I hope that Ben's Chili Bowl, Pat's, Geno's, and others were good to your tasting and also you had a great load of fans who appreciated everything you did.

I also found it really amazing that you... Instead of eating with congress... you ate with the homeless. That got me very happy. Thank you for coming to America and please visit soon again, we'd love to have you again.

~ Joshua

Saturday, September 12, 2015

NFL Week 1 - Let the games begin!

Hello,

Picks will be posted every Wednesday during the football season

Note: These picks are for fun and FUN ONLY, do not ask me to help you out with fantasy football, fanduel, draftkings, or anything else. I only do picks because I can.

Opening Statement:

The NFL regular season has begun and with 256 games to Super Bowl 50 in San Francisco, California. Are we ready for some football? I am. The excitement factor will be based off of a 0 to 10 rating. So grab some wings, popcorn, and other munchies... Get a beer or two... It's time for some football!

----

WEEK 1 GAMES (Team on right is the home team)
Wins are worth 2 points

Pittsburgh vs. New England (EXCITEMENT FACTOR: 9.0)
Foxborough, Massachusetts - 8:30pm - Thursday
Selection: New England
Score: 37-29

Indianapolis vs. Buffalo (EXCITEMENT FACTOR: 5.3)
Orchard Park, New York - 1:00pm - Sunday
Selection: Indianapolis
Score: 26-21

Green Bay vs. Chicago (EXCITEMENT FACTOR: 6.2)
Chicago, Illinois - 1:00pm - Sunday
Selection: Green Bay
Score: 31-13

Kansas City vs. Houston (EXCITEMENT FACTOR: 4.1)
Houston, Texas - 1:00pm - Sunday
Selection: Houston
Score: 27-17

Carolina vs. Jacksonville (EXCITEMENT FACTOR: 3.0)
Jacksonville, Florida - 1:00pm - Sunday
Selection: Carolina
Score: 30-21

Cleveland vs. New York-AFC (EXCITEMENT FACTOR: 3.2)
East Rutherford, New Jersey - 1:00pm - Sunday
Selection: New York-AFC
Score: 25-15

Seattle vs. St. Louis (EXCITEMENT FACTOR: 7.4)
St. Louis, Missouri - 1:00pm - Sunday
Selection: Seattle
Score: 26-21

Miami vs. Washington (EXCITEMENT FACTOR: 6.0)
Landover, Maryland - 1:00pm - Sunday
Selection: Miami
Score: 24-13

New Orleans vs. Arizona (EXCITEMENT FACTOR: 6.8)
Glendale, Arizona - 4:05pm - Sunday
Selection: New Orleans
Score: 30-27

Detroit vs. San Diego (EXCITEMENT FACTOR: 7.5)
San Diego, California - 4:05pm - Sunday
Selection: Detroit (UPSET SPECIAL)
Score: 27-26

Baltimore vs. Denver (EXCITEMENT FACTOR: 8.4)
Denver, Colorado - 4:25pm - Sunday
Selection: Baltimore
Score: 34-21

Cincinnati vs. Oakland (EXCITEMENT FACTOR: 5.0)
Oakland, California - 4:25pm - Sunday
Selection: Oakland
Score: 26-16

Tennessee vs. Tampa Bay (EXCITEMENT FACTOR: 2.4)
Tampa Bay, Florida - 4:25pm - Sunday
Selection: Tampa Bay
Score: 19-16

New York-NFC vs. Dallas (EXCITEMENT FACTOR: 8.1)
Arlington, Texas - 8:30pm - Sunday
Selection: Dallas
Score: 33-26

Philadelphia vs. Atlanta (EXCITEMENT FACTOR: 7.9)
Atlanta, Georgia - 7:00pm - Monday
Selection: Atlanta
Score: 34-28

Minnesota vs. San Francisco (EXCITEMENT FACTOR: 9.1)
Santa Clara, California - 10:20pm - Monday
Selection: Minnesota
Score: 30-20

----

Final scores along with the previous picks will be posted on the next Wednesday's selections along with the next week's picks.

~ Joshua

Sunday, September 6, 2015

Questions to the Editor: End of Summer Edition


As in all past entries... the person wishes to remain anonymous.

Person: Yep! Been a long time! Where have you been??

Me: Busy, working, new job, buying a house, drinking beer, vacation...

Person: You've been through a lot, it seems.

Me: You can say that.

Person: So what is with you and fall. Why do you dislike fall so much...? Don't you like the colors and stuff like so.

Me: While I am fine with the colors and the upcoming events... I don't think many understand that you just can't wish your life away. I know that my wedding is coming up in November but... I really want to just enjoy each day that comes and goes. I wish people would understand that. I post stuff to say: Hey folks, ENJOY life!!! One day at a time! It's 96 degrees and people are still at the beach! BEGONE WITH YOUR PUMPKIN TREATS! Everyone says I have a problem with fall. No I have a problem with people wishing their lives away. I see all these posts of: Oh I just can't wait for autumn, the crisp air, and snuggles... To me: These people want to wish their lives away.

Life is short, take it one day at a time, and enjoy what's in front of you.

Person: Don't you feel like you are upsetting people?

Me: Me? Come on... I just want people to realize, life is short, don't waste it away.

Person: So what would be your idea to fix this?

Me: Start selling the pumpkin spice stuff at the START of fall (September 23) and not before. Mind you, it's not even real pumpkin flavor... it's just cinnamon flavoring that knows somebody... Just like champagne, it's ginger ale that knows someone.

Person: Wedding's getting close. You excited?

Me: With 61 days to go, I'm taking it a day at a time. You know, we started at 439 days, and we are this close. It's not really hit me yet.

Person: Have your schedule together???

Me: Yep, I'll begin with a gym day from 6:00-8:00, I will probably have my opening statement all written out and posted at 7:00am. At 8:25, after I depart the gym, ill pick up donuts and orange juice for the men. At 8:45, I'll get myself a shower and all spruced up... I want all my guys there by 9:00-9:15... this way we're all set to go as soon as the limo gets in (10:30am sharp). Wedding is at 11am.

Person: Looking forward to football season?

Me: Yep, Ravens had a 1-3 preseason but that's ok, I'm looking at the bright side because every preseason that the team has managed 0, 1, or 2 preseason wins, they've averaged 10 to 12 wins and got a playoff berth.

Person: How about college football?

Me: My expectations with Maryland aren't as high, but I'd like to see them get to 6+ wins to get themselves a bowl. I'm hoping that the game vs. Rutgers last year when we blew the lead wasn't a turn of events for what's to come this season. I really just like watching college football all together because it's great to see what the kids can do before the NFL.

Person: I know you are a college basketball person, so what's your take on the upcoming Maryland Terrapins season after a surprising 2nd place finish in the Big 10.

Me: Yep. I was very surprised that the Terrapins did so good when people picked them to finish 8th or worse. There were lazy players the previous season and Turgeon fired them pretty much. I didn't think they would have a team with all the losses. But the moves the Terps made along the way with a highly ranked recruiting class.

Person: So how's the house coming along?

Me: It's pretty much done. Can't thank my fiance's mom and my fiance herself for doing the painting. Lord knows I am no good at it.

Person: With the fall coming up, what's some events you are looking forward to, aside from the wedding and honeymoon?

Me: Of course Thanksgiving with the fam, Christ the King Sunday, and the start of Advent. I like Advent because the vestments are happy and we are singing songs of great joy. Before which, we have to get through Thanksgiving and all that food.

Person: You're planning on doing some working out beforehand right?

Me: Yep, get up nice and early, get a long workout in, try to get at least 3 or 4 hours in.

Person: Are you going to be...

Me: If you say, my usual blogs about Thanksgiving, buckets of gratitude, Christmas, letters from Bethlehem, and etc... Yeah, you're right.

Person: I can't wait to read them.

Me: Got to write them first.

---

Until next time, this has been questions to the editor.

~ J

Saturday, September 5, 2015

28 years, 2 homes, and now a new era begins.

Hello,

September 4th marked the last time I ever slept in my bed at my parents place... I remember that day in 1991, when we left our previous house for the new one.

I remember the last days we were at the old house...

Going over to the park...

My mom cooking in the kitchen...

Eating a calzone hurriedly so we could go to my grandmother's pool.

The times we played Nintendo in the basement...

My mom watching "The Young and the Restless" on the portable television with the channel knob on the side.

Coming home after Christmas Eve...

The sharp television for which either had it on Channel 11 or 13... HRC, IRC, Cable...

A lot of things I remember about the old house.

----

The current house?

I will remember the days we played Nintendo, Super Nintendo, and beyond in the living room...

The days we had the Maurers and the Grabs over.

The family Christmas parties we threw...

The family Thanksgivings...

Everything...

Those days... well, they were great but a new era is beginning.

----

That era is over... It's all over and things will be totally different. It's already different because of the fact that I won't be sleeping in my own bed at my parents place... I'll be sleeping on a futon for a bit until we can get larger bed for my wife and I down the road.

----

Am I sad that this is happening? Yes. But I know that my mom and dad know that their 28-year old has grown up and is ready to start his new life. I kept saying that it was time to push play on life and I will be pushing play on it now.

Things, yes... it just don't feel like it's going to be the same anymore. Waking up in a house that you've barely spent any time in... no internet or anything... it's just going to be different for awhile.

----

November 7th is right around the corner. Am I getting nerve-wrecked? No.

I know that I am marrying a wonderful woman in Joanna. I wrote a great letter to her that will be delivered to her on the wedding day.

I'm looking forward to seeing all of my friends and family there. Looking forward to everything.

----

But it's time to say good-bye to a home I called for 24 years... a home I will still visit from time to time, but... I guess the time is here to begin a new era. It's going to be right goofy going down 295 to 166 to get home.

----

~ Joshua

Sunday Sermon: Where's our patriotism?

Good Evening,

Picture if you will... where you were on 9/11. Just picture it for a minute.

It was a beautiful morning, not a cloud in the sky, and I was on my way to my 2nd full week at Western Tech High School as a 9th grader. I remember being in American Government class which was very ironic because we were assigned a project (which I didn't do...) in regards to George W. Bush. Class was over at 9:00am, while the attacks were currently ongoing.

Then I remember around 9:05, the morning announcements were done but no mention of the attacks (which was a very smart move by our principal) to try to keep us calm. But something was itching at me that something just didn't seem right. Today felt ok, but something was nudging at me saying: "Hey Josh, something's wrong..."

Something was wrong... The WTC towers in NYC were attacked by Islamic extremists and Osama Bin Laden.

The situation was dire as many people were trapped inside the towers and I knew that a lot of people were going to pass on that day.

Then it got worse... The Pentagon was attacked.

It was a very serious situation that just couldn't seem to get any worse... Then it did when another plane about 80 miles from Pittsburgh was overtaken by the Islamic extremists by retaken by the passengers on the plane but they couldn't stop it and it crashed at 600 mph.

By 12:00pm, my mother was taking no chances and took me out of school. Mom pushed me into the car and told me what happened. We came home and on the television... the same towers I visited back in 8th grade... were gone.

Nearly 3,000 were killed... many were displaced... bodies still haven't been claimed... 9/11 was a complete disaster.

Later that evening, it was silent in the skies... not a plane to be heard... It was deafeningly silent and very scary. The full ground stop grounded all the airplanes.

---

Our patriotism on the days prior were lacking... we didn't have many American flags flying and it was just at all-time lows... We thought that our nation couldn't possibly be attacked... Well, were we ever wrong.

9/11 brought back the great patriotism that America needs to seriously be showing again. What will it take to bring back patriotism in America. I see the American flag being desecrated in so many ways... We're in America, this is the land of the free, and the home of the brave... Why in God's name are we doing such despicable acts with our American flag... Why are so many people getting offended by the flag of our nation?!

Do this in any other country and you will get destroyed like nobody's business!

It's popping up all over social media.

1. I am seeing pictures of people on facebook shoving the flag up their rear end
2. People stepping on the flag
3. People burning the flag.

Come on people, where IS YOUR PATRIOTISM! Do you not understand what this flag means to our nation? Honestly? Do you not understand? Think of all the military men and women who sacrificed THEIR LIVES to SERVE AND PROTECT!!!

What about our firefighters... police officers...? They sacrificed their lives on 9/11 as well! I've had enough of this flag desecration! Why aren't we punishing people for this!?

Fly the flag on 9/11 and every day of the week. Remember, this is the country YOU LIVE IN! Remember all the men and women that have sacrificed THEIR LIVES for that flag.

---

9/11 is also NOT AN ANNIVERSARY... It is a not even considered a federal and public holiday... For which I don't understand. We call it Patriot Day but there's just no federal recognition for it to become a public holiday of sorts.

It is an extremely significant day in our nation's history.

Why are we calling something an anniversary when it was a dark day?

---

I ask everyone, no matter how old or young you were on 9/11, to fly the flag that our forefathers bore and our military defends today.

It is really sad that our flag continues to be ignored as a piece of our history. Not to mention the fact that people are literally being asked to take it down because "IT OFFENDS"

You know what, if someone tells you that the flag offends... Tell them: "Sorry, this is the flag that my country hails... I will not take it down."

---

On this 9/11, 14 years later, remember those who perished... say a prayer for the nation... and hope that this never happens again...

Thank you
~ Joshua

Sunday, August 23, 2015

The Road to November: Reality setting in

Hello,

Have you ever gone to bed thinking what does tomorrow bring? How does the future look...? Is it dark? bleak? Is there a big shining light at the end of the tunnel? Do you just want to turn around and go back the other way?

For me, it's the constant countdown running down to November 7, 2015... It is the day that I am about to be a husband... someone who cares for his wife just like a real husband should.

As a follower of Jesus Christ and his teachings. Jesus Christ taught us many things and Paul elaborated on those teachings in his epistles. Paul said: "Wives, submit to your husbands as you would the lord. He is the head of wife as Christ is the head of the church."

However... in continuing... Paul also states to the husbands: "Love your wife as you would love the LORD."

Joanna and I are going to  have a traditional marriage. We both work, have lives, do the housework together, pay the bills, work hard, and we are going to make our marriage last even beyond our olden years together.

We are the last of our families to get married and it does come with some sadness to our mothers and fathers because... this is the last child they are sending out into the world. It is just such a big event.

---

Reality is setting in... I know I won't be the perfect husband but I know darn well I do my very best to be the best husband.

It's really weird to even saying that: "Husband..."

This coming from the guy who didn't think he was going to see the light of marriage... seeing friends see me get married to the one I am giving my heart to permanently...

I didn't think it would happen. I thought I was going to be a single man with no kids going into my 40s and living by myself.

But at 28 years old... I'm just 77 days away from giving my heart to Joanna.

Ever since I've been with Joanna, I've keep knowing more and more that I've made a great decision. I've made new friends, got rid of a lot of rubbish and fakers in my life, people who just want the handout... I've made some incredible strides at work by getting not one but two new jobs...

Changes were coming regardless. I fought hard for a new job and got it... Don't have to work my weekends anymore... I'm spending more time with the LORD in the church... I'm doing everything I can to make my life so much better.

Not to mention I bought a house on my own without any parental help... I purchased my honeymoon without any parental decisions... I'm learning how to do things on my own...

It's time for me to get up, be a man, and take charge of my life... That's exactly what I did.

---

I wrote a very special letter to Joanna that will be delivered on our wedding day in regards to how happy I am to be marrying someone so wonderful and right for me.

---

When I pledged marriage to Joanna with that engagement... Right there, I grew up. Bottom line... and she's been there for me through the best, worst, head-scratching, crazy, and outrageous of times.

And as I learned, it's my job to be there for the best, worst, head-scratching, crazy, and outrageous of times.

---

I pledge to be a good and very valued husband and I will be. I got God on my side and Jesus at the ready patting me on the back.

Brandon, a friend of mine, at Steve's party yesterday said:
"The nerves kick in about an hour before the wedding begins..."

---

~ Joshua

Friday, August 21, 2015

A realist Orioles fan...

Hello,

So the O's are having a stretch where they are once again, up and down and still in the run for the playoffs. As I've wanted to be a radio announcer since I was 14, isn't the rule: You have to be objective? And yes, I am being extremely objective and critical.

In 2014, the Orioles won the American League East, making a few band-aid moves, but it worked out because a lot of people didn't understand our strategy. We had a strength of our bullpen, a great D, and we lived and died by the home run. To build upon that great success, I was hoping Dan Duquette would use the money wisely enough to make some moves do so. Instead, he let Nick Markakis walk... he let Nelson Cruz go and he's having great success with Seattle... and now... the O's are up and down and don't know what to do. The O's once again sat on their hands, watched everyone else improve, and teams re-worked their strategies.

Fans say: "But we increased our payroll."

You increased payroll, ok. BUT WHAT IMPROVEMENTS DID YOU MAKE!?!?!? Dan Duquette, you were so distracted by the President and CEO job of the Toronto Blue Jays, that you didn't do a thing!

Folks, I am a Orioles Fan, but there's a thing called: Being a realist.

The pitching this year has let us down badly... We've turned a corner with our D after a questionable first half. We're still free swinging at the ball, just living and dying by the homerun. Might I also state that we also have NO MINOR LEAGUE TALENT younger than 24 READY to come up to the big leagues. We don't have any promising prospects at all! See, my feeling is, if they don't get into the major leagues by 25? They are a career minor leaguer... Our farm system is the OLDEST in professional baseball at 27.8.

Do you guys not understand that the farm system is barren and has no ready talent to come up. Hobgood.... huge bust... Bundy... not even close to being ready, he's oft injured and never ready to go. I gave him time, but I'm running out of patience with him.

I figured some of these guys we had doing really good right now were young and poised and ready to go... Nope, some of them are going into their 30s... Does that not speak any volumes?

I continue to say, we got a lot of questions on our team and understand, our future does not seem to be very bright as Dan Duquette has already stated: WE'RE NOT SPENDING MONEY.

YOU HAVE TO SPEND MONEY TO COMPETE AND CONTEND... You have to get the right talent to help the rookies grow up.

---

Fans, if we have enough to carry the team to the postseason. That's fantastic. But anything less than the World Series after being in the ALCS means the season was a failure.

Last year wasn't luck, it was just a lot of strengths we had finally come together.

---

I also ask Adam Jones to stop being such a pathetic prick. Look man, if you say you are the leader you so claim to be then you need to start acting like it and not being so arrogant and uncaring of where this team goes.

---

Losing Markakis was a huge mistake. He was the true leader of the team and spoke when spoken to. He spoke up when he had to. He was the true captain of the team and just did his job. He was very mild-mannered.

---

Fans,

Can you please hear me out? I'm being objective and a realist. I'm not sure if this team has enough left in the tank to get to the postseason... This team is on E... There's no minor league talent ready to come up to help the team... Fans, we may have to face it... there is nothing like in the tank. I hope we have something big come down the stretch, but I don't have a lot of hope for this year or next... Dan Duquette has made it clear that not much is changing next offseason in terms of spending.

Does that not ALARM YOU!? Seriously? Does that not make you a bit fearful about the team's future? This team has no ready prospects and the future is pretty dark.

This is why we need to spend and make signings... it starts this offseason.

~ Joshua

Sunday, August 16, 2015

Sunday Sermon: Fear

Good Evening,

Today in church was a discussion and talk about fear. We all have fears, even superheroes had fears, families have fears, and even Jesus had a fear.

Fear is an incredibly common thing among all the residents of the green Earth. We all have a fear of something.

For me, it's spiders and dogs... I've always had a huge fear of spiders and believe me if I see one on our trip to Cozumel... I'm turning myself around and saying: Uh... No.

My fear of dogs began when I was 2 years old and I was bit. My friend Megan P.'s dog bit me and that hurt. Thanks Megan.

But fear is something that comes with the integrity of our lives and how we play our cards down the road. Fear is something that comes natural with our lives and we're all going to have it.

Phobias come in all shapes and sizes:

Algophobia is the fear of pain.

Bibliophobia is the fear of books.

Catagelophobia is the fear of being ridiculed.

Cynophobia is the fear of dogs.

Doxophobia is the fear of opinions.

Kopophobia is the fear of fatigue.

There's over 40,000 listed phobias. Everyone's got one. Why not make Pittsaphobia... Fear of Pittsburgans... or Ohiaphobia... Fear of Ohioans... Or how about Baltimophobia... Fear of Baltimoreans.

Some you can just make up, some of real, or... some... just don't make sense.

----

Jesus himself, probably had a fear of being alone, that's why he always had his disciples with him as they were his followers.

----

But why am I talking about fear?

Fear is something we have to deal with everyday of our lives and not only that, it's part of who we are.... there are many pieces of us we won't necessarily understand but... fear is what we have to deal with day in and day out.

---

And Jesus, I pray that we can overcome our fears... Fears are difficult... Fears are painful... We either have the fear of seeing some crazy... or seeing a pickle... doesn't matter. Fears are tough... Help us all to overcome the fears and phobias of life each day.

Amen.

~ Joshua

Wednesday, August 5, 2015

End of movie theatres as we know it

Hello all,

Recently, we've seen 3 movie theatre shootings and a question lingering: Is this the end of movie theatres as well know it?

I'm thinking it may just be...

With the advent and dawn of REDBOX, NETFLIX, AMAZON PRIME, and other movie services and with the constant rises in movie ticket and food prices to keep up with profits... I think the decline of the movie theatre is officially here.

Attendance at movie theatres has declined steadily since the advent of movie streaming services. According to some sources, movie theatre attendance is down 20%. People are just not getting up to go to movies anymore nowadays.

January and February are the worst times for new releases due to people not having the money to even go.

People are also afraid of going due to the continued number of shootings going on in theatres. We saw the most major massacre in Colorado with the Century 16 shooting with James E. Holmes.

---

I personally believe this is the proverbial end for movie theatres.

~ Joshua

Tuesday, May 12, 2015

From an angry O's fan: Dear Dan...

Dear Dan Duquette,

I've been an Orioles fan since birth and have just about had it with you NOT signing anyone in the offseason and IMPROVING the team. I saw other teams spend big money to sign talent and improve their teams. We again, stood pat at free agency, and signed a shortstop who's doing nothing but committing errors and hitting into double plays. I, as a fan, demand an explanation as to WHY you are not signing anyone.

Our talent in the minor leagues is nowhere near ready. Hunter Harvey is still probably a good 2 to 3 years away, Bundy is showing some signs of regression, our hitters are pretty lackluster at best... Do we have ANY developing and ready made rookies to bring up to the minor leagues? The answer to that is NO.

Did the Blue Jays President and CEO title distract you this season from signing anyone? I think it did. All these free agents and international talent could've been signed. Yasmany Tomas and Rusney Castillo are still in their respective minor league systems with NO PLACE TO PUT THEM.... You could've signed them! YOU HAD MONEY...

I am really glad that the Oriole players are questioning the commitment to winning. Yes we were close to getting to the World Series last year but ran into a very good KC team who outplayed us with their D and hitting... But in order to get to that next stage... You have to make IMPROVEMENTS TO THE TEAM. I don't see Everth Cabrera as an upgrade... I see him as a serious downgrade.

Loads of money to spend and not a dime was spent. I believe the fans are going to start questioning our commitment to winning if nothing is done in the offseason... You can take that to the bank... I'm a very upset fan and tired of seeing the same thing in the offseason: NOTHING DONE...

Personally, I believe it's time to send some players to contenders and start growing our minor league system more with better talent. Start gutting the team and having a fire sale.

RAISING PAYROLL does not mean you improved the team, that just means you are paying more money to players.

Letting Markakis and Cruz go was the worst idea ever. Markakis is still mashing the ball and Cruz has 15 homeruns already. Boy did we lose defense, power, and LEADERSHIP. Markakis is a very quiet leader... Jones is too cocky as a leader...

I want to see some changes next offseason... a lot of changes...

Sunday, May 10, 2015

The sermon about glue



A sermon on Glue:

GLUE: A hard, impure, protein gelatin that is an adhesive or bonding agent.

Useful for pretty much everything.

--

Why are we talking about glue? Because glue is a bond... a bond that is tight... a tightness keeps it together. Sure glue will wear off and make things fall apart if not properly sealed but you can easily fix that.

--

Thursday was a night that put a lot of things in perspective for me and why it is time to fix fences and make them stronger than ever.

Thursday was a wake-up call that sounded an alarm to me. It also made me realize that I was harming myself as well in more ways than ever.

Thursday was a divine example of why animosity must stop and why family is more important than ever in this time of worry and fear.

Thursday was a time for me to be that bond that held things together and I mercifully succeeded.

Saturday was a day of healing and atonement for past failures and mistakes.

Saturday was a day to end the past.

Saturday was a day to end the war.

Saturday was a day to normalize things and guess what. I did just that.

Family is the most important thing on this planet and no one is perfect. But someone in the family has got to rise up and say: I'm taking matters into my own hands and being the bigger person. I can honestly say, I've become the glue.

Glue is a bond that hold things together. An model of something can be broken but fixed with something. A broken chair can be fixed with glue. But I realized more and more that I was becoming that.

I also realized that I am forming tighter bonds with my fiance's family. I was accepted almost instantly.

---

I found out that Kaylyn, one of my friends from high school, and also working at my place of business is getting married on the same day as me.

Her and I made a pact that we were going to send each other good luck messages on the night before our respective wedding. Kaylyn loved the idea.

That's glue right there.

Liz and I have a strong bond between us and its gotten even better in the short period that I've talked to her. It proved to me that I am normalizing things and fixing the problem

That's glue right there.

Building better relations... It takes work but if you can be THAT glue that holds the bond together, you did yourself a huge favor.

---

Today was the start of that new glue and bond. I hope that you can find it in your hearts to be the bigger person, mend fences, restart relations, and be the glue that hold things together.

---

Some food for thought: "I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me" - Philippians 4:13

Christ strengthens us through prayer and his word. Jesus was definitely a family man. His disciples were his family along with his mother Mary and father Joseph. He was a very strong bond that held the team together.

He was the reason that his disciples stayed noble to him through his words, parables, sermons, and miracles.

---

Remember, glue is a bond, be that bond, fix the relations, mend the fences, and begin anew as it is time.

I did it... Can you.

---

And now may the peace of Christ which surpasses all understanding, keep your hearts and minds through faith in Christ Jesus, amen.

---

God bless you,
Joshua

Friday, April 10, 2015

I'm a O's fan but a realist

Hello,

Baseball season is in full swing and once again, the O's failed to sign anyone to bring mystique, intrigue, and fun to this team. It was evident in spring training when we went 11-18 and hit a paltry .229 as a team. Cabrera wasn't really a signing, that was a band aid.

As an O's fan, I've seen 3 Division Titles, 14 straight losing seasons, and 2 AL East Championships.

But I also see in the last 2 seasons, we have not really committed ourselves to thinking in the long-term. Whereas, I'm very happy this team didn't give up the farm, I'm also realizing that the talent we have in the farm system is not even CLOSE to major-league ready. Our drafts have been so poor in recent memory (Rowell, Hobgood, just to name a few) that we've tended to pick up washed up talent or players that just fizzle out in a few years. The MLB draft is very hard to pick great players by but still we have no developed talent.

I question the commitment myself as do the players.

As a fan, I want to be WOWED by the season's signings in the offseason saying: "Hey this just may be our year. This team made some big moves and... it just may be OUR YEAR"

Instead this year: I was not excited for opening day in Tampa Bay. I saw the same exact team from last year minus Markakis and Cruz. I saw nothing that made me excited.

The 6-2 win the team had on Opening Day was basically chump change because the team always seems to get a W on Opening Day, it's been a long time since this team lost on an opening day.

I'm very critical of Peter Angelos and his meddling ways. There was lots of great free agent talent out there we could've used to upgrade the team, instead, he commits nothing.

If you are going to have a consistent winning base and get the fans to return, YOU HAVE TO PUT A GOOD PRODUCT ON THE FIELD!!!! Fans pay good money for a good product to see teams win a championship. The team made over $100 million last year and we can't spend a dime!? Come on!

As a fan of the team, the goal is to buy the players, make the product better, and bring the fans back. The fans have been coming back but seeing this, the fans are going to start thinking twice about going to games because the O's don't have a long term commitment to many players.

Raising payroll doesn't mean you made a signing, it just means you spent money on the existing team. Hardy, Davis, and Jones had EVERY RIGHT to question the commitment of the franchise. They want to be a winning team.

As one who wants to work in radio. I'm told I am not critical enough. Well guess what, this was extreme criticism.

I'm very critical of the owner of the franchise who's only care in the world is to make money and not put a franchise out there for winning.

He reminds me of Hugh Culverhouse, who ran the Tampa Bay Buccaneers for several years and he was criticized for being a cheapskate. He blackballed Doug Williams, a quarterback who would win a Super Bowl with the Redskins, by giving him a $400,000 contract when he asked for $600,000. His idea of a good product was watching his team win just a meager 30% of their games while he owned the team with 14 consecutive LOSING SEASONS which included a 0-26 beginning. He believed that his business should be profitable and which it should but you also need to remind yourself that hey, the fans want to win, so I am committed to putting a great product on the field.

The O's have not done that since 2005 (When we spent over $150 million in free agents). We managed a playoff bid in '12 and '14 but seeing what I am seeing now, I'm not seeing a long-term commitment to winning.

This team could've signed some moves that brought an upgrade or two to this franchise and made sure the fans were happy.

Fans are not happy right now, I for one am NOT a happy fan because this team did not greenlight spending. We lost players left and right and made no moves.

So I say this:

If the O's are committed to winning... You go out there, you find the talent, you spend the money, you bring them here. When you bring the player here, it brings the mystique, intrigue, and hope of a great season. You want to park the fans in the seats and get them excited for a great season.

I don't see an AL East Championship. I see a 4th place finish.

Sorry, but that's being a realist and that's being critical. You wanted me to be critical. Guess what, I just was.

Friday, April 3, 2015

Were you there?



Hello,

On this Good Friday, we remember Jesus's death and his passion. We remember how he gave up his life to save ours and we pray for his church.

Yesterday, 147 members of a Christian church were murdered because they believed in Jesus. Murdered just because they believed in Jesus. Where have we gone wrong? What did we do that deserves our execution?

Christ was obedient to death and he gave up his life for our sins and transgressions.

And yet today, just saying you're a Christian earns you scorn, rebuke... Many things involving Easter or Christmas have been torn down because ACLU whines, complains, and gets their way... Yet... nothing is said about Rosh Hashanah, Yom Kippur, Jewish Holidays, and Muslim Holidays... Because according to the ACLU, they are not religions, they are more CULTURES.

Christianity isn't a culture? Oh, we're just a religion... We just believe the man who created this Earth and the galaxies among us.

You haven't really been hearing a lot of stories about the Christian Crusades... You've been hearing more about the Christian Cleansing from muslim-dominated nations by ISIL. ISIL has claimed the lives of more than 6.8 million Christians.

Sure Christians aren't perfect, but I never hear a word about us making a crusade against Muslim-dominated countries and Judaism. No way, we are attempting to coexist.

In the last 250 years, according to many sources, over 203 million Christians have been killed or executed for their beliefs. Why? What did we do.

---

Take Pilate for example... He was trying to save Jesus from Capital Punishment but he had to give in what the chief priests wanted him to do.

However, his wife said: "HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH THIS RIGHTEOUS MAN!"

He probably felt really bad that he even put him to death because he just didn't listen to that little voice in his head saying: "Hey, don't do it."

---

Today, we mark the death of our Lord and Savior...

Let us mourn his death and be joyful of his resurrection on Easter Sunday.

---

Thank you.

Sunday, February 15, 2015

Letter to Nansy: Befriend an 8-year old for me.

Dear Nansy,

I have a huge favor for you up there in the LORD's keeping. My little girl who had inoperable cancer at the age of 8 just passed away and I need you to seek her out and befriend her. She didn't have a chance to make friends in school or in the hospital. She'll be carrying a green stuffed dinosaur with her named Yoshi. It was a gift I gave her when I sponsored her.

I did so much for so many people this past holiday season and you know, it just never seems like I can do enough for anyone. Nans, what else can I do for people who need help.

Just do me this favor please. I'm sure she's getting fitted for wings. I really want to humor these children and make them happy.

You know all about what happened to me, I'm sure you've gone through God's files and see the travesties and horrible things I've had to overcome.

Thanks.
~ Joshua

Tuesday, January 27, 2015

My letter to Commissioner Robert Manfred, Major League Baseball

Commissioner Manfred,

Welcome to your worst nightmare sir, you are officially taking over one of the most powerful businesses in all of sports next to the National Football League. But you know, as commissioner, it's time for you to make business in the MLB a bit more streamlined and make it more fair.

Let's begin for example with teams spending outrageous amounts of money and also teams that are just not spending ENOUGH.

The Astros will walk into Spring Training this year with a payroll just under $13 million. Ok, several players make more than the Astros as a team. Don't you think it's time to think about putting in a floor of $30 million and have teams MEET that floor? The NHL, NFL, MLS, and NBA have league-wide floors, but you know what, it's time for baseball to get with the program.

The Dodgers will walk into Spring Training this year with a payroll over $250 million and that to me IS ALARMING. That is double the salary cap of the NFL! Don't you think it's time to think about putting in a cap of about $125 million? Contracts are out of control. Giancarlo Stanton just signed for $325 million! That's incredibly excessive. There needs to be maximum contract rules in baseball because the way it's going, we are going to see a financial crash of the system of this keeps up. Get a cap so that we ensure fairness in the sport.

How about the trading of draft picks. The MLB has the hardest in terms of drafting talent because any one of them could be a bust. Let me remind you that in 2016, we will have our FIRST NUMBER ONE PICK in the MLB hall of fame in Ken Griffey Junior. I think it's also time to end high school picks and make these kids go to college to have something to fall back on if they get injured.

It's also time to SPEED UP THE GAME. Now we do pay good money to watch the game, but the pitchers need to TOSS the ball and stop using these exotic wind-ups. Batters need to stop taking all this time to adjust themselves, they should have to keep one foot in the box at all times. Last year, the average baseball game lasted 3 hours, that's a near 20 minute increase from last year! Once again, the Yankees and Red Sox were painfully slow. They take too long to get out of a 9-inning game. Pitch clocks? I recommend it! I think if we were to speed up the game, give them 14 seconds to throw the ball. As soon as they get the ball from the catcher, the clock starts, no questions asked.

Also, it's time to start fining players larger amounts of money for crap they do. Come on, $5,000 is the limit? Peter Ueberroth was able to fine players up to $250,000!!!!

Take a tougher stand on steroid usage. Make it one time and you are out.

Take a stand on domestic violence. Let me remind you of the Ray Rice case.

I'm a baseball fan, Mr. Commissioner. You want to keep me that way.. Make some changes to the game and you'll make myself and the fans happier campers!

~ Joshua