Musings of a man with enough mold on the brain to produce a quart of penicillin.
Monday, August 18, 2014
Questions to the Editor (Part 1)
Hello,
I had a sit down with someone that wanted to ask me questions. To protect his identity, he will be called "person"
Person: A recent post by you about the ice bucket challenge really got some people upset and decried you as selfish and inconsiderate. What's your take.
Me: To me, I see this as a fad that will eventually fall apart soon. See, I'm not a trendsetter, follower, or anything like this. My co-workers have turned it down (except for a few). See if everyone jumped off the Brooklyn Bridge, would you do it too? That's the way I see it. I kindly gave money to the ALS fund and put an additional $20 in as well. I got 5 nominations, however, I declined politely. Yes I am angry that I am taking shots for ridicule and scorn, but I was also very kind to donate. So at least give me credit for that.
Person: Would you honestly say you have a slight anger problem?
Me: Yes, I do. I will honestly go out of my way to say I have a slight anger issue that really makes me look bad in light. I have views and opinions of course, but who doesn't. People don't understand that this is one of the key ingredients to a person who's autistic.
Person: What else don't you follow?
Me: Game of Thrones, The Walking Dead, Sons of Anarchy, Shark Week... I'm actually no fan of any of those things, they don't interest me. I don't hashtag... I threw away my twitter as I found it nonsensical and irrelevant. It's just not my thing and I really wish people would respect it.
Person: Well what would you say interests you?
Me: Human interest stories, sports stories, women in sports, Title IX, stuff like that. I also have been following the Little League World Series as well. I feel that we need to start giving these kids some college start-up funds. Mo'ne' Davis has been pitching EXTREMELY well for the Philly-Taney team and that's really great to hear. I hope she makes it to the MLB someday. In terms of women in sports, hey, the women can play JUST AS WELL as the men and I think more coverage should be devoted to the women of sports as well. The NCAA women's tournament was so much better than the men's because the women are playing for the game and not a contract. The WNBA doesn't allow for undergrads to enter the draft, they basically say, get your degree and then you can play. Which is real smart.
Person: What do you take from Robin Williams' death?
Me: Robin Williams was a character who was true of heart, knew his boundaries, loved comedy, and making people laugh and personally, I find him a hero. He left a legacy of wonderful movies and quotes. Mrs. Doubtfire is undoubtedly one of my favorite movies of all time. He was a smart comic but we also had a dark side that very few people knew about. Something was naturally wrong with the guy and no one seemed to have seen it. Depression is a real problem and I wish something would be done for that.
Person: What do you think of the growing problems in Ferguson, Missouri
Me: In my opinion, the Ferguson, Missouri case is much like Trayvon Martin's case. We don't know all the facts and who did what. But I also see double standards and pots meeting kettles. See when George Zimmerman was let off the hook for the Trayvon Martin case, I was basically destroyed for my view saying: "No matter what happens, nobody wins." basically stating... HEY, in this case, no one's going to win because there's going to be backlash from both sides. Then I get this disturbing facebook post saying: "THESE ARE MY PEOPLE! THIS WHITE GUY KILLED ONE OF MY PEOPLE!" And also, to be clear, Zimmerman was hispanic, not white.
I question it: Your people? You knew Trayvon Martin? If you didn't, he's not your people, you didn't know him. In all honesty, I'm seeing some really bad negatives here and double standards. First of all, the 3 year old girl from Waverly, who was yes, black, was shot by a black person and are there going to be the following
National Marches: no!
National Outrage: no!
President Obama making a statement on it: no!
We seriously need to stop with this massive amount of flight surgeon horse crap. I don't understand why we need to get Rev. Al Sharpton and other black leaders involved when something like this happens. They need to lay off. The Henry Louis Gates incident was bad enough... then came Trayvon Martin... now this. It's kind of a disturbing trend to be frank.
Person: You recently posted about Burkittsville and the roads "less traveled", tell me about these trips.
Me: Maryland, despite it's faults in government, is an area of the roads less traveled. I take trips in my car to places of virtual unknowns (my gf goes along with me a lot). It's actually quite a pleasant experience. I really wish that someone would pay me to take these trips to the virtual unknowns, give me a camera, and I'll snap photos. Burkittsville was scary yes at night, but I'd like to visit in the day time and see what it's all about. It's very odd to say the least. But if I have to run like hell, my car DOES have a V6 when I turn the econ mode off. The wedding, for which I know you'll probably have a question about... yes, I'll say, the road to St. Leonard? There's utter nothingness but the park was great!
Person: What kind of car would you like to have for these trips?
Me: My accord is fine, but if I want to go off-road, give me a F-150 Platinum Edition and let me just sink into those seats. I'd love to do something like that. Just do some traveling, take pictures, and go on the roads less traveled.
Person: You recently got done with a wedding, how was that?
Me: Steve and Krissi's wedding was more than delightful, it was like being a part of something special. Getting a wedding invitation to me is knowing that your friends think of you. Joanna had an extremely fun time too, she was in heaven thanks to the country look and the barn. Not to mention the "Moonshine." I will go on record to say that Krissi is a divine person with a lot of heart, courage, independence, and not only that, she was TOTALLY STRONG. I thought she'd cry during the wedding. She never did. I nicknamed her "Special K" because she is special to Steve and special to all of her friends. Special to me because she's got that heart of gold and will give you such encouragement. Steve on the other hand... he is a big brother, he actually conked me upside the head during JV Baseball and said: "Dude, don't do that again." Steve is one great sports buddy and someone who is very forgiving and tough on the outside. He finally got the woman who could tone down his "Theodore Roosevelt, Ol' Rough and Ready" attitude. Couldn't be anymore happy for those two. It was a great time.
Person: Favorite aspect of it?
Me: Just having the chance to spend time with my friends. I introduced Joanna to everyone I knew and even got to know a few people too. I didn't really feel anything close to being an outsider.
---
That's all for now, stay tuned for part 2 of "Questions to the Editor"
---
~ Joshua
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment