Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Hard news and old news shows

Hello,

When you watch the news, it's either: Blood and guts, local stuff, sports, and the weather.

A lot of people wonder why I follow some of the stations that I do.

I follow: KYW-3 CBS Philly, WHP-21 CBS Harrisburg, WJZ-13 CBS Baltimore, and WBFF-45 FOX Baltimore.

Wait, why am I following KYW and WHP, I don't live in Harrisburg or Philadelphia,

Well for starters on the occasions that I went up to Bonneauville, Pennsylvania to see a friend of mine (now ex-friend of mine) and attempted to determine what television stations they watched. Typically, when I was at the Ruby Tuesday, they had WHTM-27, but I found myself glued to WHP because it's actually not a bad station for South Central Pennsylvania news and they also have REAL human interest stories. They are also Ravens fans, so that makes it that much better that the team is starting to crawl into the Pennsylvania markets.

When I could actually ATTEMPT (and by attempt, I mean, it was usually: WAH, DON'T TURN ON THE NEWS!) to turn on a news report in the Philadelphia Metroplex, I usually popped on KYW CBS-3 because they actually run some real good stories as well plus they are good with the Jersey Shore as well when it comes to the weather.

What's wrong with hard news nowadays? It seems to be the same stories every time. ISIS... Obama's problems... The economy...

Whatever happened to segments like "ON THE ROAD" with Charles Kuralt (I know he's dead, give me a break...) that talk about America and their doings. Human interest stories the arouse the eye of the public.

My mom and dad used to watch "CBS Sunday Morning" a lot. We loved the segments that Bill Geist did because he made fun of himself. However, it's sad he won't be able to contribute much anymore because he's got Parkinson's disease.

My favorite segment that Bill Geist did was look for the perfect hamburger and it was found in Moonshine, Illinois. A town of 2 people, that's it. Apparently their hamburgers are the absolute best in the world. Boy would I love to go there and get me one of those "moonburgers". Apparently, people will line up as early as 6:00am just to get their hands on one. Too bad she turns off the grills at 12:00pm.

The woman didn't understand why her hamburgers were so good. All she said was she put love into them.

---

Where's the good media and great human interest stories nowadays? They are few and far between because so much happens in the world nowadays we have to keep up with the times.

---

There are some shows I can remember that were really good, There was one show my mom and dad were really into called "I-Witness." I think that's what it was called. It was a show back in the early nineties and it was on WJZ-13.

My dad's mother was into this show that Richard Sher did back then that had him apart of a panel and there'd be arguments... He'd also bang the gavel to bring the panel to order. Can't remember what that show was either.

There were so many good news magazine and interest panel shows out there.

---

What can I say... News is news. Old news is old news.

~ Joshua

My Guest List Frustrations

(Courtesy: Quest Gardens Clip Art)

Hello,

Wedding planning is off to a really slow start right now with a lot of things going on in my fiancee's household but I'm not being critical, I understand what's going on right now

The hardest part of a wedding is putting together that guest list. I personally have a set of rules that people have to meet before I put them on the "Gold list." It's not that I'm harsh with the rules, I'm just really tough with who I want.

I set a hard limit of 70 people and a soft limit of 85. I'm trying extremely hard to meet that hard limit because she has a huge amount of family she has to invite.

It's just incredibly hard to figure out who you want to invite and what not because friends are very hard to choose. You definitely want to invite co-workers because that'll make them happy that you were thinking about them of course. But you try to invite your closest of friends and family friends that you've known awhile.

The thing I hate the most is how some people try their very best to goad their way into the guest list by acting like they've done something for you in the past and they want to be paid back for it. Nuh uh, that's not how it works!

Look, we have limited space and if we win powerball or the lottery, we'll be able to invite who want and get the most expensive place in Maryland. Until then, I can't invite everyone!

My hard limit has been set and that's what I am trying to limit myself to. I have a Gold List and a Silver List.

I'm so ready for this wedding, it's going to be very fun, but like I said, I'm limited to who I can invite. It's the hardest aspect of the wedding and that's how it's got to be.

Thanks,
~ Joshua

Monday, September 29, 2014

Unnecessarily necessary: The Marriage License


Hello,

Joanna and I are getting married and of course in a matter of time, I have to buy a license so that her and I can get married. Yep... going to the court house to pay.... Hold on.

Buy a license!?

(record rips)

BUY A LICENSE? I HAVE TO BUY A LICENSE TO GET MARRIED? ARE YOU SERIOUS?

Government control of marriage is completely immoral and unnecessary, especially when it's two Christians, people, and same-sex getting married. Personally, the government of the United Statesof America needs to build park benches, help our veterans and military folk who actually FIGHT FOR FREEDOM, and leave us alone.

My question is: Why do we need a marriage license? According to livestrong, it supposedly prevents bigamy and to legitimize the children.

According to the state, if I don't pay $80 to the state for a license, my marriage to my woman is not LEGIT and my children are automatically bastards. (Bastard is not a bad word, people, get a hold of yourselves)

Personally, in my opinion: I married the woman, she had my kids, therefore, I shouldn't need a license to marry! It basically says we have merely have the PRIVILEGE, not a personal right to marriage and also you are PAYING money to the state to get married which is just absolutely WRONG as well. The marriage license business takes in more than $250 million a year (according to Forbes) and it seems even criminal in my opinion. Plus you have an expiration date on your license! So you have to marry within a time limit!? THAT'S WRONG TOO!

A marriage license is completely unnecessary in the eyes of the lord above. Marriage is a personal right, not a privilege.

I find it incredibly wrong that I have to pay a fee to the state to get married. Why? Why should I have to do that, because the state says you need a license.

So why not do this?

If you need a license to marry, then you need a license to have kids... so make it a BIRTH LICENSE, not a BIRTH CERTIFICATE. Make it $100 per 1 child.

If you need a license to marry, then you need a license to own a television... Make it a television reception license.

If you need a license to marry, then you need a license to have a bank account... Make it a bank account license.

And that my friends is why the marriage license is completely wrong. I shouldn't have to pay the state $80 just to marry my future spouse. That's like giving a rich man money just because he claims he's broke.

Folks, do you really think it's necessary for a marriage license nowadays? The answer is no. I shouldn't have to "buy a license" to get married. That's just wrong, moronic, and criminal. Whoever thought of this idea... uh yeah... real bad idea.

Thanks,
~ Joshua

P.S. May as well just shut up and buy one when it is time... Good god.

Sunday, September 28, 2014

The Longwood Album

Hello,

My fiancee and I took a trip up to Longwood Gardens in Pennsylvania. It's an excellent trip for anyone. For the $36 we paid, I was incredibly impressed with how large it REALLY was. 1,076 acres of wonderful artistry.

And for you men who think I should lose my man card for this, think again. You should lose your man card if you don't do something like this with your woman every once in while. Trust me, this is quite the treat for couples who just want a "day in the park."











































































































That's all the pictures... Join us tomorrow, same time.

~ Joshua ~