Hello,
Roger Goodell's mishandling of the Ray Rice situation has not only made a situation much more worse than it should be when the Ravens already did what they had to do... He's really messed up the actual game itself.
Courtney Upshaw was just fined $16,000 for a legal hit to the chest of Ben Roethlisberger which drew a flag but did not affect the outcome of a 26-6 victory for the Ravens.
I want you Ravens fans to think about this for a minute. How many times has Joe Flacco been hit like that hard... I'll give you a few examples TWICE vs. Cincinnati (Burfict hit Flacco the same way that Upshaw hit Roethlisberger. Guess what, no flag, no fine) and let's also remember how he took a low hit that hurt his knee vs. Detroit (No flag... No fine). I thought we were improving the safety of the sport. Whatever happened to the "Brady" rule that protects the quarterback? Does it not comply to the Ravens?
None of those times did the players who hit Flacco was assessed a fine. In fact, in every instance in which Flacco has been hit JUST LIKE Upshaw did to Roethisberger... No Flags, No Fines...
Antonio Brown was only given a $8,200 fine when he drop kicked Spencer Lanning. That to me is kind of ridiculous... that could've SEVERELY INJURED the punter yet what Antonio Brown paid was only half of what Upshaw was forced to pay... and a lot of the Ravens are questioning it.
Everyone else is like: Oh get over it! Pay the fine!!
But when someone else does it: Oh, he didn't get hit that hard... a fine like that is too harsh.
Roger Goodell has been the worst sports commissioner since William Eckert took over Major League Baseball back in the 50s and 60s. Eckert had a business background yet had no experience running anything. In fact, he was so obscure, they called him the "unknown soldier."
Goodell on the other hand has been very visible yet he's not doing a real good job of "protecting the shield" when he took the job after Taglibue walked away.
The NFL has had some of the most corrupt commissioners in the game.
Rozelle had his head up his ass too much and kept bowing down to Bears owner George Halas's every whim and whine. Halas had it out for Baltimore too and Rozelle never liked having football in Baltimore either in fact Rozelle was so ashamed of even announcing the draft picks for then Colts.
Taglibue cooled interest in Baltimore because he wanted Cooke to move the Redskins stadium to Laurel. Jacksonville and Carolina get franchises and between the two, Jacksonville's the worst.
But let's talk about Goodell.
Goodell has improved safety to the extent where you just can't hit a player anymore on offense. Yes people love offense but what about the hard hitting, smash mouth defense that we all knew and loved. It's gone out the window
We seriously need to amend contracts that say "PLAY AT YOUR OWN RISK" because yes, you are earning the money to take the hits but if you are going to be a wuss and not take the hits, then you don't belong playing this game. Injuries are a part of sports and yes, they will happen all the time.
Goodell just won't budge on safety. The game may be faster but you got to let the boys play.
He has been very known for babying franchises like the Saints, Colts, Patriots, and Broncos. He needs to knock that crap off. Giving the Broncos the kickoff game in 2013 instead of just moving the game to Wednesday night was the height of arrogance. Bob Kraft had a hand in his pocket and made sure that Baltimore suffered because he was still livid over the AFC championship loss.
The Patriots got hit real hard for videotaping yet, the crime did not fit the punishment.
---
Goodell, I have an idea, with the Ravens and Ray Rice thing going on.. Why just establish a NFL death penalty since you've been such a "LORD HIGH EXECUTIONER"
Take away all of our draft picks, fine us $5M or more, remove us from all primetime NFL sportscasts and just do what you can to make our city and fans miserable.
---
I'm expecting a ton of backlash from other cities... booing and stuff thrown at us. I'm guaranteeing it.
Ravens must be the most corrupt franchise in football... Though we can account for other teams that have had a ton of corruption as well.
---
Goodell, I implore you as well as the other fans around me... Resign and walk away quietly...
No comments:
Post a Comment