(Courtesy: Clipartpanda.com)
I had another sit down with someone that wanted to ask me questions. To protect his identity, he will be called "person"
Person: You recently threw out a post about people's problem with quarterback Joe Flacco of the Ravens, do you feel as though a lot of people have a problem with him?
Me: Absolutely, I think a lot of fans don't understand that the Ravens have had a stable position at quarterback for the last 7 years. He's won 73 games as a starter and the media can't give him the credit he so rightfully deserves. I don't understand why. He makes some of the best throws in the game. The commentators however dismisses them as underthrown or overthrown. It's like: Wait, he doesn't know how to make a perfect pass. The perfect pass is only reserved for players like Tom Brady, Andy Dalton, and Peyton Manning as they can "do no wrong." Hey, Joe Flacco won a Super Bowl. Aw no he didn't, he just got lucky. Ok, then how can you explain the fact that he outgunned 2 rising stars and 2 of the best in the league on the road to Super Bowl XLVII? What he did as a quarterback that year was absolutely remarkable and it was dismissed as a fluke. Had he had a 400-yard, 5 TD game vs. Cincinnati? The media would've dismissed it and said: "Well Joe, betcha can't do it twice in a row."
Person: What kind of a Ravens fan do you consider yourself?
Me: A fan who's sitting in his home as a die-hard and not one who goes the stadium. I will scream and carry on at the TV. I've been to a total of 2 games in my life and that's it and both times the Ravens won. My friends have gone to 10-15-up to 30 Ravens games. I've been to 2. I cast myself as Charlie Bucket. Remember how the teacher in the movie, "Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory" was asking kids how many Wonka bars they have opened to find a golden ticket? Charlie said 2... and the teacher was astonished, amused, and said: Well let's say you opened 200. Me, I just prefer to be home watching the games.
Person: Are you excited about the Orioles making the playoffs?
Me: Excited is an understatement. I'm beyond thrilled that the O's made the playoffs and not only that, we won't have to deal with the Yankees or Red Sox being there. It will be what is being deemed as the most "refreshing" playoffs ever with new teams making the playoffs who aren't necessarily "regulars" The O's aren't regulars, Royals aren't... Angels definitely aren't regulars... It's just a nice change. I was 10 years old when they last won the American League East.
Person: Plan on going to any playoff games?
Me: Not when I am saving money to pay for a wedding. I'll enjoy them at home with my mother and father.
Person: What kind of an Orioles fan do you consider yourself?
Me: One who loves his city of course. The O's don't get any fair share of love from the media as the team/city is scorned as the scum of the Earth. It's good to be a Baltimorean right now and fans should recognize that.
Person: What do you make the continuing Ray Rice situation?
Me: He's lost his job, I wish people would just get over it and carry on with their lives. TMZ pretty much ruined Ray Rice's life. People don't forget the good that he did. He was an anti-bullying advocate, he loved children, and was a fixture in the community. Seriously, we need to get off of him and leave him alone. The NFL community has forgotten the good that he's done with charity work. Domestic violence happens everywhere and is there a way to control it? I haven't the slightest idea.
Person: Any news on the honeymoon yet?
Me: I'm considering a myriad of options. I am also keeping an eye on the Royal Caribbean Quantum-class ship offerings as well. Right now, as it stands, I'm thinking it's going to be a 10-nighter out of Baltimore, this way we don't have to buy airfare or take a long drive. But I'm keeping an eye on that Quantum-class as well to see what they have to offer.
Person: Quantum-class?
Me: Seriously, the ship looks awesome! It's huge and at over 160,000 GWT, that's a huge ship. What really kills me is that when you think about today's boats and the Titanic... The Titanic would be a tug boat compared to today's boats.
Person: What's your take on the Tony Stewart situation?
Me: They just found out the guy was as HIGH as a kite. He was doing dope before he raced so he had impaired judgment. His impaired judgment fueled his rage and cost him dearly. His family states the matter is not at rest but I think it's time they need to put it to bed. Tony Stewart may be a hot head but he expresses very deep remorse for what happened. Kevin Ward NEVER should've gotten out of his car and acted like an ass. That's where he went wrong. There's no winners in tragic circumstances like these.
Person: Would you ever try your hand at racing?
Me: I'd like to go fast but... racing's just not my thing. I'll go in a supercar when the time comes but... not right now.
Person: With the political season coming up, a recent Baltimore Sun article said that the government is facing a $405,000,000 shortfall... what's your take?
Me: In my opinion, the Maryland "Politburo" has widely misled the public about their fixes of the budget. I'm still trying to figure out where all the tax money is going to? What about the casino money? Where's that heading? The rain tax? Sales tax? Income tax? Where is that going to? It's going right back into the politicians pockets and into the welfare system. It's really sad. I'm also happy that Heather Mizeur was not the democratic nomination not like Brown is any better. Mizeur could've been the lesser of two evils. She supports the legalization of marijuana. I strongly oppose any sort of marijuana legislation that funds education and builds schools with a cornerstone that says: "Built by the taxes of the pot growers of Maryland." No sir, I will not have that junk in this state.
Person: You don't support any sort of marijuana bill?
Me: Do we need to make this state anymore stupider than it already is right now? Marijuana legalization will only make it worse.
Person: A $405,000,000 shortfall... How about that? I thought these guys had money already.
Me: Don't make me laugh. They never did have the money. 8 years, we got misled by the stupid punks down there in Annapolis. They tax, tax, and tax... You want it? We tax it. Spent $350,000,000 on a website that doesn't work and instead of the government demanding the company that made the site pay the money back, they resort to using my tax dollars to fund another group. The state taxes people to death and if people don't wake up and realize that the state is a mess. It's going to get worse. They claim we are better shape than Virginia and New Jersey when we really aren't. What I find funny is that they tax and tax yet they still can't close the gap.
Person: Do you even like this state?
Me: Yes, I love my state and city. We just have morons running it. It's definitely a mess and we need someone that can clean it up!
Person: You recently wrote a post that you have yet to publish congratulating the Kansas City Royals on their chance at the playoffs for the first time in almost 30 years.
Me: As a fan of the Orioles, I have to show my class and sympathy to a team that hasn't been to a playoff game since 1985 which ironically was the last time they took the World Series. After 1997, the O's had to wait 15 years to get back to the playoffs, the Royals haven't been back in nearly 30. Orioles fans have shown a lot of class to opposing teams in the past that have had downfalls down the stretch. Ned Yost has done a really great job with the team emphasizing speed and defense over launching the ball. Heck, the O's showed class when Pittsburgh made it to the playoffs last year as well. O's fans probably have the most class of any baseball team in MLB. A lot of opposing fans (save for the Yankees and Red Sox) say that we have some of the finest baseball fans in the game.
I take it that you are packing your notepad and pencil up, that means you are done with me for the day?
Person: Yep, I'll see you next time.
Me: Ok, good times.

No comments:
Post a Comment